David Brent Hawkins

Monday, August 26, 2013


David Brent Hawkins, 53, of Blytheville passed away Wednesday, Aug. 21, 2013, at St. Bernards Medical Center in Jonesboro after a brave battle with cancer. Born Nov. 10, 1959, in Paragould, he was the son of Jason Clifford and Bernadine Burgess Hawkins and was a longtime area resident. Mr. Hawkins was a member of the Jesus Name Tabernacle Church in Caruthersville, Mo., and was a United States Army veteran. He worked for UPS and enjoyed riding motorcycles, woodworking and spending time with his grandchildren. His family would like him to be remembered as a wonderful father, son, husband and a man of God.

He is survived by his wife of six years, Patti Hawkins of the home; six sons, Kevin Hawkins and wife Carie of Leachville, Jason Hawkins and wife Taffy of Ladson, S.C., David Myers and wife Stephany of Manila, Joseph Myers of Bartlesville, Okla., William Walker of Manila and Jacob Walker and wife Mindy of Manila; two daughters, Brittney Woods and husband Charles, Jr. of Leachville and Jennifer Burrow and husband Joel of Leachville; one daughter-in-law, Samantha Myers of Paragould; his mother, Bernadine Herren of Blytheville; two brothers, Nevin Hawkins of Blytheville and David Herren of Caruthersville, Mo.; one sister, Patricia McWilliams of Caruthersville, Mo. Mr. Hawkins also leaves 19 grandchildren, several nieces and nephews and a host of other family and friends.

Mr. Hawkins was preceded in death by his father, Jason Clifford Hawkins, Jr.; his stepfather, Frank Herren; his son, Andy Myers, and his maternal and paternal grandparents.

Funeral services were at noon Saturday, Aug. 24, at the Jesus Name Tabernacle in Caruthersville, Mo., with Rev. Richard Lee and Bro. Anthony Stepp officiating. Burial was in Manila Cemetery with Faith Funeral Service of Manila in charge of arrangements. The family received visitors from 10 a.m. until time of service Saturday at the church. After the interment, the family gathered at the Church of the Lord Jesus Christ Church in Manila for fellowship.

Pallbearers were Kevin Hawkins, Jason Hawkins, David Myers, Joseph Myers, Jacob Walker, Charles Woods, Jr., Mike Gray, Charles Gray and James Gray.