Riverside board accepts resignations and fills positions

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Riverside School Board accepted several resignations at the Monday, June 4, meeting.

Superintendent Jeff Priest read several letters of resignations including Len Ware, elementary teacher, who has been with the district 39 years; Diane Powell, secretary, who has been with the district 40 years; Drew Warren, choir director; Ben Hoggard, teacher/coach; Holly Taylor, nurse; and Erica Rose, GT coordinator and district testing coordinator.

The board accepted the resignations expressing their appreciation to each one for their service to Riverside.

Following an executive session, the board voted unanimously to fill several positions. New hires include Kelly Adams, high school secretary; Bethanie Phillips, West elementary math teacher; Nick Brown, high school history teacher and baseball and cross country coach; and Brenda Hutchinson, part time GT coordinator.

Board members present were Greg Smith, president, Lenn B. Nall, Mike Brickell, Greg Smith and Rick Austin.

The board approved 245 day contracts for the superintendent, high school principal and assistant high school principal. They also approved summer compensation for all high school coaches at $25 an hour for a maximum of six hours a day, up to 20 days.

During the financial review, Mr. Priest said he had met with representatives in Little Rock who had commended the district. The district is up $456,000 from this time last year.

The board discussed summer projects which will include carpets in several classrooms at West elementary; moving playground equipment on the East campus; and moving the secretary's area near the front door at the West elementary. Visitors will be buzzed.

In other business:

*The board voted on a student disciplinary issue voting to expel a student for the 2018-2019 school year.

*The board voted to accepted 12 School Choice student applications.

The next regular meeting was set for 6 p.m. Monday, July 9.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: