Manila Leo Club receives 10 year award

Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Manila Lions Club present the high school Leo Club with a 10 year banner award. Pictured are, from left: Sawyer Crowell, tail twister; Alyssa Smith, secretary; Garrett Jolliff, president; Wendell Poteet, Lion president. Back – Russell Page, Leo sponsor; Lion members, Danny Robbins, Matt Noble, Jim Mills and Brian Hollis.

The Manila Leo Club, under the direction of sponsor Russell Page, was presented with a 10 year award from the Manila Lions Club.

President Wendell Poteet presented the award to the club with appreciation for all they do.

“Your club was formed in 2008,” Poteet said. “We are proud of how it has progressed and grown. Manila School has one of the largest Leo Clubs throughout the country. When we were organizing the Manila Leo Club, I visited other areas and some clubs had 10 or 12 members. You started with 30 plus and now have 50 members. We are proud of you.”

Members of the Leo Club celebrated their 10th anniversary with a luncheon provided by the Manila Lions Club.

Poteet presented the club with a framed letter from the Lion Clubs International recognizing the club.

The award will be placed in the new trophy case in the new high school.

Members of the Manila Lion Club provided lunch for the Leo members.

Present officers of the Leo Club are Sawyer Crowell, tail twister; Alyssa Smith, secretary; Garrett Jolliff, president; Kaitlyn Brooks, first vice president; Elizabeth Barks, second vice president; and Vivian Pryor, historian.

Leo (Leadership Experience Opportunity) clubs provide young people with an opportunity for development and contribution – individually and collectively – as responsible members of their local, national and international communities.

Leo Club Motto is:

Leadership: Leo members acquire skills as project organizers and motivators of their peers.

Experience: They discover how teamwork and cooperation can bring about change in their community and the world.

Opportunity: Leos develop positive traits and receive recognition for their contributions.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: