Leachville landmark gets new lighting

Tuesday, January 3, 2017
New lights welcome visitors to the Melody Theater in Leachville.

The Melody Theater in Leachville stands as a landmark in the area. The city council recently approved new lighting around the front of the historic theater.

The Melody Theater opened in 1948 offering the latest movies available in a very modern building.

The original owners were Leroy and Odessa Carter, John and Violet Hanni, and Gene and Pansy Higginbotham. They owned and operated the theater for many years.

The theater closed in the mid 1980s and remained vacant for several years.

The city of Leachvile purchased the theater building and a committee was formed to restore the building with the idea to have a place for family entertainment featuring live shows and music.

Cora Smith served as the first chairman of the Melody Committee. Marie Kennett also worked on the theater project and was instrumental in getting a weekly show, the Cotton Jamboree, located in Leachville.

Several volunteers have served through the years and the theater is still offering live shows with talented performers.

For information on the upcoming events at the Melody, interested persons can find the Melody Theater schedule on line.

The building is also available for rent.

The Melody Theater is a favorite place to gather when the Leachville All School Reunions are held with classmates from each year performing live.

During the Leachville Centennial celebration in 2015 artist and former Leachville resident Kevin Reagan presented a computerized portrait of the Melody Theater as it was when it opened. The portrait hangs in the foyer of the theater.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: