BIC Journalism ends banner year with wins at state convention

Tuesday, June 16, 2015
BIC Journalism staff members are Greydon Williams, Camden Metheny, Joanna Perez, Olevia Hughes and Drew McFall.

Members of the Buffalo Island Central journalism staff came home with many honors at the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association's convention in Rogers. Among their many awards, Greydon Williams was named Photojournalist of the Year for the second consecutive year and Yearbook Editor of the Year. Camden Metheny was also named runner-up Photojournalist of the Year.

The staff also captured eight superior awards, 16 excellents and six honorable mention awards in the convention mail-in contests, including several awards for the school's first efforts in broadcasting. Camden Metheny also was the second place winner in the on-site enterprise shooting photography contest.

Winners were also announced in the Arkansas Press Women's 2015 High School Contest. Greydon Williams won first place in the feature photo category, and Camden Metheny was given an honorable mention in the editorial category.

The convention wrapped up the small staff of five's stellar year. In November, the staff attended the Journalism Education Association's fall convention in Washington, D.C., where Williams and Metheny earned superior awards and Joanna Perez received an honorable mention in photography competitions.

In the spring, the staff received eight Quill and Scroll Gold Keys and two Sweepstakes Awards in the organization's Yearbook Excellence Contest. Metheny also received a Gold Key from Quill and Scroll in the International Writing and Photo Contest.

Metheny was also recognized by the JEA by having his photo from the convention published in their spring magazine. He also learned in April that he would be the Arkansas delegate to the Al Neuharth Free Spirit and Journalism Conference in Washington, D.C., this summer.

Finally, Williams was awarded an honorable mention in the Jostens Photo Contest. Out of around 5,000 submissions, only 90 photos were designated as winners.

"I am so proud of my staff for all their hard work and their honors this year," said Tracey Yates Thompson, adviser. "It's amazing that only five students were able to produce two publications, much less bring home so many honors, including fifteen national awards."

Staff members are Greydon Williams, Camden Metheny, Joanna Perez, Olevia Hughes and Drew McFall.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: