Hole-in-one highlights Yamato Kogyo/ANC Golf Tournament

Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Pictured are, from left: Tetsuro Mishima, president Yamato Holding Company; Gaylon Rogers, ANC Foundation board member; Hiroyuki Inoue, president Yamato Kogyo Company; John Logan, ANC Board of Trustee member; Senator David Burnett; Lewis Walters; Bill Sullivan and Bill Kenner, ANC Foundation Board Members; and Dr. James Shemwell, President of Arkansas Northeastern College. (photo provided)

Thirty-six person teams gathered at the Blytheville Country Club Monday, Sept. 15, for the 24th Annual Yamato Kogyo/ANC Foundation Scholarship Golf Tournament. This year's tournament had the rare distinction of producing a "hole-in-one" prize of $2,000 to one lucky golfer. Tad Inami, of Arkansas Steel Newport, scored the ace on hole 16 of the BCC course.

The tournament is an international event that brings people from all across the United States and Japan to Blytheville to play the beautiful course, meet with customers and friends, and enjoy both a hamburger buffet and a sushi bar. Hiroyuki Inoue, president of the Yamato Kogyo Company, presented ANC President Dr. Jim Shemwell and members of the Foundation Board of Governors and College Board of Trustees a check for $20,000 at the close of the tournament.

As a direct result of the generous support of the Yamato Kogyo Company, more than 500 Arkansas Northeastern College students have received financial assistance with their college expenses. Yamato Kogyo, Ltd. established the Yamato Kogyo Scholarship in 1991 at Arkansas Northeastern College. To date, the proceeds from this event have totaled over $450,000.

Yamato Kogyo sponsors the tournament as a way to show appreciation to the community and in support of increased educational opportunities for its citizens. ANC faculty, staff and students wish to thank the Yamato Kogyo Company, the many tee-box sponsors, and each participant of this tournament for supporting this event.

Tournament winners are:

Championship Flight, first place (53): Matt Baker, Kylee Clanton, David Quearry, Seth Hendron, Bill Klein, Chase Shelton.

Championship Flight, second place (53): Justin Bell, Matt Noble, Seth Holifield, Perry Dixon, Brandon Meadows.

Championship Flight, third place (56): Blaine Duncan, Josh Duncan, Roman Russell, Jay Gee, Buddy Swan, Brent Edwards.

First Flight, first place (61): John Strode, Gregg Smith, Clay Lavelle, Alan Morse, Davin Adams, Bill Harrison.

First Flight, second place (61): Phil Dever, Jaymes Dever, Dennis Vaughn, Dough Vaughn, Dale Thompson.

First Flight, third place (61): Tony Lollar, Gary Burris, Rick Ramsdell, Don Hisky, Vance Austin, Butch Peeler.

Second Flight, first place (64): Richard Atwill, Randy Jumper, Bobby Ashley, Brandon Bennett, Wade Curry.

Second Flight, second place (64): Kevin Harper, Gary Pennell, Jack King, Roger Jefferson, Clinton Foster, Tim Patterson.

Second Flight, third place (64): Dr. Jim Shemwell, Hiroyuki Inoue, Yoshinori Nagano, Kohjin Yonehara, Joe Stratman, Tetsuro Mishima.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: