2014 Cherokee District Pinewood Derby held in Manila

Tuesday, March 11, 2014
Pinewood derby drew a large crowd at the Manila Community Center on Saturday, March 8.

Manila Pack 32 hosted the 2014 Cherokee District Pinewood Derby at the Community Center on Saturday, March 8. Over 100 Scouts participated in the event.

Not just the young Scouts, but parents and siblings had the opportunity to race in the vintage competition following the Scouts.

The Cherokee District includes the counties of Mississippi, Clay, Greene, Lawrence, Craighead and Randolph. There were Cub Scout packs represented from all over Northeast Arkansas.

The winners from Pack 32 in Manila were Landon Massey, Aiden Massey, Logan Warrenfells, Diem Warrenfells and Ryan Crouch.

Winners in the different divisions include Tigers, Wolves, Bears, and Weblos.

Winners in the Tiger Division (first grade ) are: first place - Leland Mendez; second place - Andrew Williams; third place - Theodore Kettler. Best of Show - Peyton Cartwright.

Winners in the Wolves Division (second grade) are: first place - Ethan Hawkins; second place - Gabriel Elumbaugh; third place - Carson Brinkley; Best of Show - Aiden Massey.

Winners in the Bears Division (third grade) are: first place - Spencer Sims; second place - Ethan Hunt; third place - Michael Haywood; Best of Show - Landon Massey.

Winners in the Webelos Division (fourth and fifth grades) are: first place - Jackson Pegg; second place - Chester Gray; third place - Kaden Turner; Best of Show - Logan Warrenfells.

In the Vintage Division (parents & siblings) winners included: first place - Ava Williams; second place - Chris Sims; third place - Diem Warrenfells; Best of Show -Ryan Crouch.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: