Leachville Receives Rural Community Grant

Tuesday, October 29, 2013
Pictured are, from left: Teresa Johnson, ARDC Commissioner Marvin Exum, Rebecca Clowers, ARDC Chair Lynn Hawkins, Governor Mike Beebe, DRS Director John Andrews, Representative Wes Wagner, Chief Mark Johnson, ARDC Commissioner Peggy Williams. Not pictured - Senator David Burnett.

LITTLE ROCK - Governor Mike Beebe and Department of Rural Services Director John Andrews presented $166,000 to 34 rural communities selected for Fiscal Year 2014 Cycle 1 funding through the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program at an awards ceremony on Oct. 8, held at the State Capitol in the Governor's Conference Room.

In attendance were representatives receiving an Arkansas Rural Fire Protection Grant award on behalf of Leachville in Mississippi County. Leachville received $12,500 for turnout gear, hoses, supplies & heat/air units.

The Department of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to administer the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Programs in three cycles each year. Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge's office.

For more information about the Department of Rural Services and their grant programs contact Rural Services at 1-888-RURAL-AR.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: