Wayne Taylor Memorial Golf Tournament raises money for scholarships

Tuesday, June 18, 2013
Leachville PEO members hosted the Wayne Taylor Memorial Golf Tournament.

Tuesday, June 4, 2013, proved to be a beautiful day as golfers took to the course of the Big Lake Country Club for the 15th Annual Wayne Taylor Memorial Golf Tournament sponsored by the Arkansas Northeastern College Foundation.

With almost 50 tournament/tee-box sponsors and 40 golfers, this year's tournament is expected to raise approximately $6,000 in scholarship money for students from the Buffalo Island and Bootheel of Missouri areas.

Chapter AC PEO of Leachville served as hostesses for the event as well as providing a wonderful lunch for participants.

Jon, Mike, Janet and J.P. Taylor all made the trip to the Big Lake Country Club for the annual Wayne Taylor Memorial Golf Tournament in memory of their father, husband and grandfather.

"The PEO ladies really add to this tournament. The food is wonderful, but they do such a great job of making everyone feel welcome," said ANC Foundation Director Rachel Gifford.

The tournament, named after the late Wayne Taylor of Leachville who was an ardent supporter of ANC and past chairman of the ANC Foundation, has raised approximately $70,000 since it began 15 years ago.

"We were so delighted that Mr. Taylor's wife Janet, sons Mike and Jon, and grandson J.P. could all be here. They each traveled a long way to show their support, and it was so nice to have them present," added Gifford.

In addition to the many sponsors for the event, Gifford also praised the Big Lake Country Club for their continued support. "The folks at the country club are great to work with. They really know how to put on a great tournament," Gifford said.

Winners for the tournament are:

Championship Flight:

1st Place: Robertson, Johnson, Whitlow, Field.

2nd Place: Shemwell, Dement, Crosskno, Reece.

3rd Place: Wallace, Burks, Goodman, Roney.

First Flight:

1st Place: Hayden, Bridges, Pace, Bassing.

2nd Place: Stuck, Smith, Woodard, Cornish.

3rd Place: Kennett, Bearden, Hurst, Edwards.

Second Flight:

1st Place: Johnson, Collier, Burns, Tripod.

2nd Place: Ledford, Stacy, Charmichael, Eldried.

3rd Place: Tucker, Lung, Johnson, Deckard.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: