Craighead retired teachers gather in Jonesboro

Friday, April 12, 2013

The Craighead County Retired Teachers Association met April 4 at the Harlin Henry Senior Citizens Center with President Mary Ann Hodges presiding. Erline Smith gave an inspirational message.

Lunch was provided by Heritage Bank and catered by Sue's Kitchen. Tables were covered with lavender or blue cloths and centered with blue and white pots containing spring plants.

The scholarship recipient, Elizabeth Cossey, was introduced and she briefly told the group why she decided to major in education. Marie George and Barbara Brinkley conducted the memorial service where the educators who had died during the year were described as treasures and each name was read along with their school district.

Ken Wadley played a selection of songs as requested by the audience. Paul House, Area III director, encouraged members to attend the District meeting in Paragould on May 2, and he also gave an up-date on legislation passed or pending in the State Legislature. The reception honoring 2013 retirees will be held at 6:30 p.m. May 16 at the Center with refreshments and entertainment provided. All school district recent retirees are invited.

Door prizes were won by Rhetha Gipson, Betty Lee, Kathy Hossman, Maxcine Strickland, Bonnie Smith, Juanita Caldwell, Lavonda Townsley, Teresa Coleman and Connie Crafton.

One hundred seventy-five pounds of canned and non-perishable food was donated to the Helping Hands Food Pantry for a total of 802 pounds for the year.

Hostesses were Mary Beth Oswald, Evelyn Nelsen and Brenda Gray.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: