Etowah receives Rural Community Grant

Wednesday, March 20, 2013
Pictured from left are: Joe Riney, ARDC Chair Bob Lucky, Mayor Charles "Bo" McCollum, Governor Mike Beebe, Representative Wes Wagner, ARDC Commissioner Marvin Exum, DRS Director John Andrews, ARDC Commissioner Peggy Williams. Not pictured is Senator David Burnett. (photo provided)

Little Rock, AR -- Governor Mike Beebe and Department of Rural Services Director John Andrews presented $152,741.10 to 16 rural communities selected for Fiscal year 2013 Cycle II funding through the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program at an awards ceremony on Feb. 27, 2013, held at the State Capitol in the Governor's Conference Room.

In attendance were representatives received an Arkansas Rural Fire Protection Grant award on behalf of Etowah in Mississippi County. The Etowah volunteer Fire Department received $13,932 to purchase and repair a building next to the fire station to be used to store firefighting equipment.

The Department of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to administer the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Programs in three cycles each year. Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population are eligible to apply for assistance through he mayor or county judge's office.

For more information about the Department of Rural Services and their grant programs contact Rural Services at 1-888-RURAL-AR.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: