Miss. County 4-H recognition banquet held

Tuesday, January 1, 2013

The 4-H Banquet took place on Dec. 6, 2012, at Arkansas Northeastern College in the Governor's Ballroom beginning at 6:30 p.m.

4-H leaders and volunteers pictured are, from left: Pat Lendennie, Susan Winstead, Glenda Craine, Mindy Simpson, Kyle Simpson, Summer Winstead, Rhoda Yost, and Deloris Prince. (photo provided)

Torya Fields-Woods, County Extension Agent -4-H conducted the program. Pattie Bell, 4-H Volunteer Leader helped decorate and assisted with the program.

4-H Families and friends gathered to see 4-H members receive their awards in various areas like: Record books, Ross Photography, Leadership, County, District and State Level activities.

The meal was catered by The Catering Girls of Little Rock, Arkansas- Joy Billson.

The speaker for this event was Agricultural County Extension Agent, Ray Benson. Benson elaborated on two things he felt youth needed to know: making smart choices and sticking to it. Benson gave youth insight into utilizing the 4-H program and all of its advantages. He also did a question and answer session with the members to get feedback on how they felt about various things. He encouraged youth to stick with their decisions and told of real life experiences that made impacts.

Next on the agenda, was Dave Freeze, County Extension Staff Chair who announced the awards to dedicated 4-H Foundation Board members who have raised money, given of their time, and who believed in the 4-H Program of Mississippi County.

Board Members are as follows: Bryan Bonds (deceased) of Osceola, Oscar Ford, Jr. - Foundation Board President, Harry Wooten and Jan Stiles. Friends of 4-H were also recognized: Lena G. Ellington of Arkansas Northeastern College and Ray Lawrence of Mississippi County Fair Board for their continued support of 4-H.

4-Hers were then awarded trophies, medals, plaques and other novelty items for all their hard work. Record book winners included: William Simpson, Jason Simpson, Sunney Winstead, Abbigail Winstead, Shelby Simpson, Leah Williams, Scott Williams, Teyha Simpson and Haven Prince (State Level). County Champion Awards: Juniors-Jason Simpson, Teyha Simpson, Seniors- Hannah Yost and Haven Prince.

County Champion awards were for accumulation of activity points plus record book submission and were donated by Mississippi County Electric Cooperatives. The Ross Photography award was given to Louis John Lammers (Future Farmers) for his photographs he submitted to the State contest.

Neal Benson (Future Farmers) received an award in Baitcasting for the District level. The Leadership award went to Haven Prince from the Osceola Seminoles 4-H Club. Haven did exceptional work in her project area and exuberated excitement when taking part in leadership roles.

The 4-H Consumer Judging Team received awards for their hard work in this area: Hannah Yost (Blytheville Bookworms), Ethan Yost (Blytheville Bookworms) and Haven Prince (Osceola Seminoles) who took home the top individual award at state. Kendra Stone (Blytheville Bookworms) received an award for photography at State and Gracie Sharp (Blytheville Bookworms) for her Fashion constructed outfit at District this year.

A special thank you goes out to the 4-H Volunteer leaders: Kelley Lammers (Future Farmers 4-H), Rhoda Yost (Blytheville Bookworms), Mindy Simpson, Glenda Craine, Kyle Simpson, Susan Winstead, Summer Winstead, Deloris Prince.(Osceola Seminoles), Angela Jones, Melissa Anderson (King Cotton), Nina Spiller, Pattie Bell (WIN 4-H), Amanda Beaird (Dell Cotton Time) and Oscar Woods. These individuals have devoted their time and effort to the success of the 4-H Program. All University of Arkansas, Division of Agriculture programs for youth between the ages of 5-19 years are open to all eligible persons regardless of race, color, national origin, religion, gender, age, disability, marital or veteran status, or any other legally protected status, and is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer. If interested please contact Torya Fields-Woods at tfields@uaex.edu or by phone at (870)762-2075.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: