Manila Council to begin four year terms in 2013

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Three Manila City council seats (Position 1) will start four year terms in January. The voters of Manila voted to extend the two year terms to four year terms on Nov. 16, 2009, which began this election.

Council members in Position 2 will serve two year terms until the next election (2014) in which candidates elected will begin four year terms in January 2015.

The rotation began with this election and in the future only three council seats will expire at the same time. This will always allow three experienced council members to serve the community.

Starting with the first round, Council members in Position 1 for four years are Dale Murphy, Linda Donovan, and Donnie Wagner. Those in Position 2 serving two years are Larry "Whiz" Davis, Tony Hawkins, and Jason Baltimore.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: