Farm Bureau Resolution Committees meet

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Mississippi County Farm Bureau held its annual Resolutions Committee meeting at the Northeast Research and Extension Center in Keiser on Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Winners of the drawing at the annual Mississiippi County Farm Bureau Resolutions meeting are, from left: Bert Palmer, Darlene Musick, and Ben Davis.

A barbecue meal, catered by Razorback Catering, was served.

Arkansas Farm Bureau President Randy Veach spoke to the group on the importance of the Resolution process.

"Farm Bureau is a grassroots organization," Veach said. "Your resolutions will be taken to the state and national level. Many resolutions from this county have gone on to become law."

Veach said topics are not just confined to agriculture. Others include taxes, education, etc.

"We are the most effective lobby in the state of Arkansas," Veach said.

He encouraged the committee members to discuss the issues and come up with resolutions to send to the state and national level.

John Tipton intoduced several guests at the meeting.

Committees and chairmen included cotton, Todd Edwards; soybeans, John Weiss; rice, Mike Sullivan and Mark Fincher; wheat and feed grains, Brandon Veach; local affairs, Dino Pirani; state affairs, Randy Reynolds; national affairs, David Wildy; and Research & Extension, Justin Wildy.

Following the meetings, three guns (courtesy of Home Oil) were given away. Winners were Bert Palmer, Ben Davis and Darlene Musick.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: