Cherokee District Volunteer Recognition Banquet

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

The Cherokee District of the Quapaw Area Council, Boy Scouts of American held its annual Volunteer Recognition and Awards Banquet at St Bernard Auditorium in Jonesboro Saturday, Jan. 28.

Cherokee District includes Craighead, Greene, Mississippi, Clay, Randolph and Lawrence Counties in Northeast Arkansas.

The banquet is a time when outstanding volunteers and units around the district are recognized for their dedication and achivements in scouting.

Federal Court Judge and Eagle Scout, Price Marshall was guest speaker for the evening. He delivered a wonderful message to the attendees reminding them how important they are to the scouts and youth in the district.

The District Award of Merit is the highest honor which can be given to a volunteer at the District level. District Award of Merit Recipients for 2011 included George Fray of Jonesboro, district chairman for the past two years; Rebecca Henry of Bay, chairman of the District Cub Advancement Committee and Cubmaster of Pack 227; Michelle Richel of Jonesboro, chairman of the District Cub Activities Committee and chair of the Fall Cub Family Camporee; and Jimmie Ward of Gosnell, Cubmaster of Pack 95 and outstanding volunteer at district activites throughout the year. These four individual demonstrated their love of scouting throughout the year by giving countless hours of service to scouting in the Cherokee District.

Other awards included Scoutmaster of the Year -- Steve Foster of Troop 45 in Pocahontas; Scouters of the Year at the Boy Scout level - Elizabeth Scales, Scoutmaster of Troop 728 in Imboden, Mark Woessner, Assistant Scoutmaster of Troop 42 in Leachville and Chairman of the District Scout Training Committee; and Barbara Smith, Assistant Scoutmaster of Troop 210 in Jonesboro and Chairman of the District Membership committee.

Troop 42 of Leachville was recognized as Troop of the Year. Cubmaster of the Year was Judy Beck of Pack 138 in Paragould. Cubscouters of the Year were Tammy Reed, Committee Chair with Pack 45 in Pocahontas, Brandon Williams, Den Leader with Pack 227 in Bay, and Jessica Warrenfells, Assistant Cubmaster of Pack 32 in Manila. Packs 227 and 32 shared Pack of the Year honors. The 2011 Extra Miler award was presented to Rick Watkins, Unit Commissioner and Asst. Scoutmaster with Troop 138 in Paragould.

In addition, the District leadership was were recognized along with the District Eagle Scout Class of 2011. Eagle Scouts of 2011 include: Ryan Johnson, Troop 6 Jonesboro; Mitchell Pruitt, Troop 6 Jonesboro; Jordan Jones, Troop 32 Manila; Travis McCallie, Troop 32, Manila; Brian Busick, Troop 45 Pocahontas; Charles DeClerk, Troop 45 Pocahontas; Travis Tunstall, Troop 45 Pocahontas; Joseph Miller, Troop 46 Piggott; Skyler West, Troop 66 Paragould; Michael Martinez, Troop 115 Bono; Carleton Bailey, Troop 138 Paragould; Zachary Baker Troop 138 Paragould; David Hampton, Troop 138 Paragould; Jared Green, Troop 218 Paragould;

Kirk Pfeifer, Troop 890 Brookland.

William D. Boyce New Unit Organizer Awards were presented to Kevon Anderson, Pack 6 in Jonesboro, Johnny Dunnigan, Pack 129 in Monette, Elizabeth Scales, Troop 728 in Imboden, Betheny Stokes, Troop 38 in Rector, Joe Turner, Pack 599 in Paragould, Jamie and Candice Seaborn, Troop 210 in Jonesboro and Bonita North, Troop 130 in Marmaduke.

Kathy Thompson of Jonesboro is the Senior District Executive in the Cherokee District. Anyone wanting more information about scouting can contact her at 501-680-0860 or

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: