BIC Robotics succeeds in regional competition

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Buffalo Island Central Robotics team recently competed in the Frontier Trails BEST Robotics competition in Fort Smith. The team placed third in the robot competition seeding rounds and eventually finished fifth overall out of 38 teams from Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, and Oklahoma. The team also received the second highest engineering notebook score, tying with last year's national winner. They took home third place Founder's Award for Creative Design, as well as the third place award for Most Photogenic Robot.

BIC Robotics Team from left: Back -- sponsor John Hantke, Scott Bowen, Codey Pate, sponsor Debbie Olive, Devin Misner, sponsor Steve Brummett. Middle -- sponsor John Rowlett, Samuel Bollinger, Larry Farmer, Hunter Drury, Trevor Drury, Drew McFall, Bradley May, Greydon Williams, mentor Lanny Thompson. Front -- Lance McDonald, Katie Bibb, Stephanie Hill, Brianna Bearden, Amber Rolland, Evan Long.

This success at the Frontier Trails competition followed upon the team's first place win in both the robotics competition and the BEST Award at the Crowley's Ridge BEST Robotics competition in Jonesboro.

This year's robotics game theme was Bugs. Each team had to construct a robot that could collect and store flies, termites, and cockroaches simulated by everyday materials. BIC's robot's name is MITE, an acronym for Mechanical Insect Transportation Engine.

While in Fort Smith, the team, along with their family members, also volunteered to assemble wreaths to be used by the Fort Smith Regional Chamber of Commerce. The wreaths, which totaled over 12,000, were placed on each headstone in the Fort Smith National Cemetery in order to honor the fallen servicemen and women of the Fort Smith community.

Members of the team include seniors, Sam Bollinger, Trevor Drury, Devin Misner, and Amber Rolland; juniors, Katie Bibb, Scott Bowen, and Larry Farmer; sophomores, Brianna Bearden, Stephanie Hill, Codey Pate, and Ben Sands; freshmen, Bradley May, Lance McDonald, and Greydon Williams; eighth grader Hunter Drury; and seventh grader Drew McFall. The team's school sponsors include Steve Brummett, John Hantke, Deborah Olive, and John Rowlett.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: