5K raises $5,000 for Butterfly House

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

The first annual Harvest 5K Walk/run to benefit the Butterfly House, a recovery home for women, was held Saturday at the Adams Estate in Leachville with 185 registered participants.

Kicking off the race were DeShawnna Doke, race director; Laura Imler, race chairman; Danna Deaton, co-founder of the Butterfly House; Congressman Rick Crawford and son

Participants started arriving before the sun came up with registration from 6:45-7:45 a.m. with the 5K kicking off at 8 a.m.

Director of the event was DeShawnna Doke with Laura Imler serving as race committee chairman.

"We appreciate the Adams family for allowing us to use their grounds," Doke said.

Get ready, go!

Co-founders for the Butterfly House are Imler and Danna Deaton.

Imler, Deaton, and Doke were excited with the outstanding turnout and enthusiasm for the run.

Gold sponsors included Adams Land Co., Tina's Foundation, and Families, Inc. Counseling Services. Silver sponsors included Gairhain Dental, Optus, Gamble's Home Furnishings, Tripp Gairhain, and Todd Edwards Farms. Bronze sponsors included Mark Manchester, Mary Scott Deaton, Aidan Master, Home Oil Company, The Christian Connection Sunday School class at FUMC, Ronald and Jill Meyer and Mississippi County Hospital System.

Caleb Reinhart (right) was the overall winner with 18:51 and Shannon McDowell was close behind with 19:01.

"We also appreciate Farmers Market in Manila and Leachville, Dollar General, and Hays Grocery for providing water and refreshments," Doke said. "Also helping with the goody bags for the participants were Sonic in Manila, Merle Norman, St. Bernards Medical Center, Hibbett Sports, Ultimate Tans, Fitness Bootcamp in Jonesboro, Gearhead Outfitters, Manila First Baptist Church and Home Oxygen Care."

Stearns Race Timing timed the event and Printers Ink of Paragould made the shirts.

Congressman Rick Crawford led the group in prayer and started the racers with "ready, set, go."

Doke said it was a privilege to help organize this race because of the cause it represents.

"To help raise money for women to break free from the bondage of drugs and alcohol and give God all the glory for doing so means so much to me," Doke said. "I had a great time. I enjoyed seeing everyone cross the finish line knowing it was either their very first 5K they finished or they got their personal best time that day. They had the courage to start and the heart to finish. I am proud of each and every one of them."

The event raised $5,211.70.

Registered walkers ranged from 8 to 66 years of age and registered runners from 10 to 67.

The overall male winners were Caleb Reinhart, 14, of Manila with an 18:51 time with Shannon McDowell of Paragould finishing second at 19:01. Steve Cobb of Paragould finished third with 19:26.

Overall female winners were Emily Smith of Jonesboro with 22:08; Hilary Treat of Paragould with 23:02, and Niki Martin of Paragould with 23:49.

Walkers female overall winners were Betty Smith of Marion, Christy Copeland of Jonesboro, and Cherryl Bassing of Lake City.

Male walkers overall were Luke Dixon of Blytheville, Mike Mowrer of Kennett and Payton Spencer of Leachville.

Certificates in age divisions for runners were presented to:

10-12 male - Austin Bennett of Paragould first place; Garrett Jolliff of Manila, second place.

10-12 female - Ashley Delong, Manila, first place; Jordyn Wheeler, Manila, second place; and Ambrette Veach, Manila, third place.

13-15 male -- Kyle Joyner, Manila, first place; Kole Minton, Manila, second place.

13-15 female -- Kailen Shelton, Manila, first place; Heather Hollis, Manila, second place; Alexis Cruz, Manila, third place.

16-19 male --Jesse Flanigan, Manila, first place.

16-19 female -- Lauren Bennett, Caraway, first place.

20-29 male -- Francisco Salinas, Paragould, first place; Noah Churchill, Manila, second place; Jaymes Dever, Blytheville, third place.

20-29 female -- Kelly Mulcahey, Blytheville, first place; Natalie Jennings, Lepanto, second place; Casey Emery, Caraway, third place.

30-39 male -- Michael Foster, Jonesboro, first place; Ignacio Aguilar, Manila, second place; Russell Stokes, Jonesboro, third place.

30-39 female -- Torre Austin, Paragould, first place; Tonya Wheat, Paragould, second place; Bridget Senter, Osceola, third place.

40-49 male, Curtis Hitt, Paragould, first place; Scott Wheat, Paragould, second place; Ron Woods, Blytheville, third place.

40-49 female -- Michell Case, Manila, first place; Lisa Hickerson, Blytheville, second place; Lana Guinn, Paragould, third place.

50-59 male -- Phil Hawkins, Blytheville, first place; Jim Chatman, Harrisburg, second place; Tim Bassing, Lake City, third place.

50-59 female -- Becky Hawkins, Blytheville, first place; Shery Chandler, Blytheville, second place.

60-99 male -- Carl Imler, Paragould, first place; Michael Dougan, Jonesboro, second place; Danny Robbins, Manila, third place.

60-99 female -- Juanita Honey, Highland, first place; Feggie Bebout, Manila, second place.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: