Annual Farm Bureau meeting recognizes legislatures, farm family and members

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Mississippi County Farm Bureau hosted its annual meeting Monday, Aug. 29, at Arkansas Northeastern College, Burdette. Guests were welcomed by Benton Felts, president.

Incoming president Heath Adkisson presented Benton Felts, outgoing president with an appreciation plaque on behalf of Mississippi County Farm Bureau. (Town Crier photos/Revis Blaylock)

The barbecue/fish dinner was catered by Big Butts of Leachville. Entertainment was provided by Buddy GoDair on the keyboard.

Following the meal, Felts recognized past presidents, welcomed the Farm Bureau representatives from neighboring counties, and introduced the Farm Bureau staff, and the state officers, and guest speaker Bobby Skeen. Skeen is with the National Cotton Board.

Following the meal, Mark Bryles presented the financial statement.

Mark Fincher Family was recognized at the annual Farm Bureau meeting. They are the 2011 Mississippi County Farm Family. Presenting the plaque was Dave Freeze, (left) Mississippi county Extension chairman. Family members include Mark and Callie Fincher, sons Chase and Cody, and daughters Caitlyn, Callee Wryn, and Whitney.

The county legislative members were recognized including Representative Tommy Baker, Osceola; Representative Charolette Wagner, Manila; and Senator David Burnett, Osceola. Certificates were presented to each for their support of agricultural issues in state government.

Each legislator spoke briefly expressing their appreciation to Farm Bureau.

Dave Freeze, Mississippi County Extension Service chair, recognized the 2011 County Farm Family, the Mark Fincher family of Dyess.

"The Finchers are a great family," Freeze said. "They are truly a farm family. Mark is a third generation farmer. His grandfather came to Dyess starting with 20 acres and a mule. Mark started farming with 40 acres and now he farms 2400 acres.

Freeze presented a plaque to the Fincher family.

"It is an honor to get this award," Mark said.

The guest speaker, Bobby Skeen, of Louisiana, serves as the Cotton Board representative for the Mid South Region over five states. He presented a slide presentation on the history of cotton and the promotion of cotton and cotton research.

He encouraged cotton producers to tour the Cotton Inc. headquarters in North Carolina.

Skeen was entertaining with his Jerry Clowers style of story telling.

Sherry Felts, chairman of the Women's Committee, spoke briefly of the work being done through the women's organization.

"We are taking agriculture to the classroom to educate the area students where their food and clothes comes from," she said.

She encouraged women to get involved with the women's committee.

Harry Wooten, Farm Bureau manager in the Osceola office, expressed his farewell and appreciation for 41 years with Farm Bureau. Wooten is retiring in October. He has worked with 33 Farm Bureau presidents.

He recognized his wife for her support through the years. He also praised the Farm Bureau leadership, agents and secretaries.

"Time passes fast when you are having fun," he said. "I love my job at Farm Bureau. It will be an adjustment for me."

He thanked everyone for the memories he will be taking with him.

Felts gave the annual president's address thanking everyone for their support over the last two years.

He received several smiles as he read the children's book "Little Red Hen."

"Like in the book, everyone wants to eat but no one wants to help," he said. "We can't give up; we have to lead by example. I hope as president of Farm Bureau I have led by example. We have to get involved. I know Mississippi County Farm Bureau is not better because of Benton Felts but Benton Felts is better because of Mississippi County Farm Bureau."

He expressed his appreciation for the support he received while serving as president.

On behalf of Mississippi County Farm Bureau, incoming president Heath Adkisson presented Felts with an appreciation plaque.

Proposed Resolutions were approved.

Officers and board members were approved.

On the Executive Board were Heath Adkisson, president; John Tipton, 1st vice president; Brandon Veach, 2nd vice president; Ben Davis, secretary; Bill Jackson, treasurer; Mike Sullivan, assistant treasurer; Benton Felts, past president; Nathan Sanders, financial officer; Randy Veach, president of Arkansas Farm Bureau Federation.

Board members are: South -- Fred Bourland, Wade Castleberry, Mark Fincher, Mike Gammill, Mike Gibson, Steve Metheny, Darlene Musick, Bert Palmer, Dino Pirani, Russ Thomason; North -- Jason Austin, James Bevill, Drew Blankenship, Jeff Costner, Bart Dixon, Todd Edwards, Phil Hawkins, Clark Long, John Weiss.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: