BIC Journalism students recognized

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

ROGERS -- Three Buffalo Island High School students won journalism awards Friday as part of Arkansas Press Women's annual high school journalism competition.

Pictured are BIC Journalism award winners, from left: Bianca Garcia, Amber Rolland, and Colby Qualls. (photo provided)

Eleven Arkansas high schools competed in the 2011 competition, which attracted more than 300 photographs, newspaper stories and page design entries among others. The competition is open to all Arkansas students in grades 9-12.

Amber Rolland won first place for both news and feature stories published in the school's Hoof Prints. Rolland also received an honorable mention award for a review. Bianca Garcia won honorable mention for news writing and Colby Qualls won third place for a feature story about a married teen mom.

Amber's first place news story was "Seniors spend summer at MASH, Girls State," and her first feature was "Waiting game well worth it." her honorable mention was a review for the new Potter film.

Bianca's honorable mention in news' headline was "Student Stoked for Senate."

First place winners are invited to attend Arkansas Press Women's summer to attend our annual summer luncheon and awards ceremony on June 4 at the Arkansas Studies Institute in downtown Little Rock. Their entries also are submitted into the National Federation of Press Women's high school competition, where they compete against other high school students across the country. The result of that competition won't be known until later this spring.

High school newspapers that participated this year include: Alma High School's Paw Print, Bryant High School's The Prospective, Buffalo Island High School's Hoof Prints, Conway High School's Wampus Cat, Drew Central High School's Pirate Now, Fayetteville High School's The Register, Har-Ber High School's Har-Ber Herald, Rogers High School's The Mountie Spectrum, Southside High School's The Southworld, Springdale High School's The Bulldog Herald and Wynne High School's Yellowjacket.

The awards were presented Friday at the Embassy Suites in Rogers during the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association annual gathering for high school students. ASPA presented separate awards.

Arkansas Press Women is a non-profit association of professional communicators in journalism, public information, business, education and government from across the state. Judges this year were from the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: