Higher Education Scholarship Established

Tuesday, April 26, 2011
The first contribution to the Mississippi County Farm Bureau Scholarship Foundation was made from residual funds of the County Insect Scouting Program. Pictured are, from left: Benton Felts, Foundation president, accepting a check in the amount of $56,251.44 from Randy Reynolds, representing the scouting group. (photo provided)

The Mississippi County Farm Bureau Federation recently established the President's Scholarship Foundation, according to Benton Felts, Joiner, president. The purpose of the 501(c)(3) tax exempt foundation is to make available scholarships to selected individuals to attend a four year college or university that offers a degree in agriculture.

The foundation's by-laws clearly state that only interest earned through deposits may be awarded to qualifying students pursuing a degree in some area of agriculture.

Felts pointed out to his knowledge this is the first such foundation in the county that is dedicated totally to the advancement of agriculture. It is certainly the first scholarship foundation established by the Farm Bureau Federation.

Other officers of the newly established tax exempt entity are Heath Adkisson, Mark Bryles and Randy Reynolds, all of Blytheville; John Tipton, Osceola, and Justin Wildy, Leachville.

The new foundation will be headquartered at 1580 South Division, Blytheville.

Felts further pointed out that the entity would welcome contributions from individuals, including memorials, organizations or companies. All such contributions are totally deductible for income tax purposes.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: