Retired teachers honored with luncheon

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Manila retired teachers were honored Friday with a luncheon hosted by the Future Teachers of America (FTA) organization. The FTA is sponsored by teachers Gerri McCann and Sarah Pemberton.

Retired teachers were honored with a lunch sponsored by Manila FTA. Pictured are, from left: Seated -- Betty Bruce, Mary Lou Deaton, Willie Whitney. Standing -- Lloyd Martin, Joe Wheeler, Vada Adkins, Pam Chipman. Not pictured - Carol Deaton. (Town Crier photo/Revis Blaylock)

It was the first time for some of the retired teachers to tour the new elementary school and see the renovations and expansion of the school cafeteria.

FTA students welcomed the teachers and served them lunch. Several teachers and former students greeted the teachers welcoming them back to school.

The group attending the special luncheon had a combined 226 years of service in education.

Manila FTA students welcomed and served retired teachers at the annual luncheon in their honor on Friday.

Attending were Willie Whitney, Mary Lou Deaton, Betty Bruce, Pam Chipman, Vada Adkins, Lloyd Martin, Joe Wheeler and Carol Deaton.

Mrs. Whitney, a retired English teacher, spent 48 years teaching. She said she has always loved teaching.

Mrs. Deaton worked in the Manila school cafeteria serving many of her 20 years as manager.

Mrs. Bruce served in the Manila cafeteria for 17 years.

Mrs. Chipman retired with 31 years serving as choir director and her later years were spent as high school principal in the Manila District.

Mrs. Adkins, Spanish and English teacher at MHS, had 27 years in the classroom.

Lloyd Martin, math teacher, taught in the Trumann school district and retired from Manila High School with 18 years total.

Mrs. Wheeler, science teacher, taught for 32 years (16 years in Manila).

Carol Deaton, special education teacher, taught 33 years.

All of the former teachers and staff expressed their appreciation to the FTA for inviting them back to campus.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: