Unofficial election results told

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Several run-off elections will be held in the area with the run-off date Tuesday, Nov. 23. Manila:

Manila Aldermen positions will be moving from a two year to four year terms by a vote of 456 for and 367 against. The four year terms will take effect after the next election in two years.

Manila Mayor:

In the Manila Mayor's race former Arkansas Rep. Wayne Wagner and city attorney, won the election with 482 votes. Debra Joni Isebell, Manila city council member, received 320 votes while Terry W. Vassar had 61 votes.

Manila City Council:

There will be two run-off elections for Manila City Council positions. One for Ward 2, Position 2 between Jason Baltimore with 340 votes and incumbent Geraldine (Squirrel) Cherry with 213 votes. Other candidates and votes for the position include William Barnhart, 108; Tony Bunch, 95; and Thomas Jaco 91.

The second run-off will be for Position 1, Ward 3 with candidates Dale Murphy and Dwight Booth. Murphy received 326 votes with Booth receiving 272. The third candidate, Jim Mills received 237 votes.

Tony Hawkins received 438 votes for Manila Ward 3, Position 2, defeating incumbent Leroy Douglas who received 402 votes.


Leachville Mayor Sheila Spurlock will be returning for a second term as mayor. She received 295 votes to Tommy Stone's 198.

In the contested city council races incumbent Bruce Wilson won the election for Ward 1, Position 1. Wilson received 278 votes to Tommy Oliver's 204.

In the Ward 1, Position 2 race, there will be a run-off between Ethel Lee Hetler and Michael D. Burrier. Hetler received 179 votes with Burrier receiving111 votes. Other candidates for the position included Brenda Robins, 102; and Cindy Brown, 95.

Incumbent Johnny R. Hawkins, Ward 3, Position 2, won with 267 votes to Michael Webster's 226.

Mississippi County Judge:

Randy Carney will be serving as Mississippi County Judge. Carney received 6,631 votes to Steve Stallings 3,6l6. Carney will be replacing longtime judge Steve McGuire who decided not to seek another term.

Black Oak

Dale Armstrong is the new recorder/treasurer for the city of Black Oak. She received 43 votes to incumbent Monda Hutchison's 26.

Black Oak Alderman are voted on at large with the top five elected. The results are: Eddie Dunigan -- 62, Kevin Austin -- 60, Kenneth Lee Vaughn -- 40, Jim Spencer -- 36,

Randy Hutchison -- 36, Timothy M. Jones -- 35, Peggy Williams -- 32, Devon Shouse -- 22.


Caraway Mayor Barry Riley will return for another term receiving 290 votes. Opponent Jerry Vaughn received 158 votes.

In the aldermen races in Caraway Mitchell Tipton received 288 votes to Chris Kelems 156 for Ward 1, Position 1. It was a close race in Ward 2, Position 2 with Austin Daniel Zamora receiving 220 votes to Walter Gatlin's 210. John Boatman, incumbent, will return to serve as councilman in Ward 3, Position 2. Boatman received 299 votes to Roy Kelems 146.

Lake City

There will be a run-off election for Lake City Mayor. Early voting will begin on Nov. 15 through the 22 at the Lake City Courthouse between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m.

Election on Nov. 23 will be held at City Hall with polls open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.


There will be a run-off between Jon Milligan who received 247 votes and Gail E. Carner, 109. Incumbent Mayor Billy Anderson did not seek re-election. Other candidates for Mayor were Doug Stone , 55; Toby Rand , 88; Jimmie R. Turner , 48.

Ann Davis will be serving on the Lake City Council, Ward 1, Position 1. Davis received 345 votes with Devin Griffin receiving 185.

Linda Goodson Simpson, Lake City Clerk-Treasurer, will be returning to her position. Simpson received 392 votes with opponent Renee Chamness receiving 160.

Lake City Sales & Use Tax passed by a narrow margin with 272 votes for and 257 votes against. Half of the tax will go toward water and sewer improvements and half toward street work and repair.

Justice of the Peace Ed Hill will serve as the next Craighead County Judge, succeeding outgoing Judge Dale Haas, who did not seek re-election. Hill received 11,958 votes. Opponent Mark Hogan received 8,676.

Incumbent Sheriff Jack McCann will be returning as Craighead County Sheriff with 14,413 votes. Paul Culbreath received 6,632 votes. Sheriff McCann has served as sheriff for 12 years.

In other races:

Homer Lenderman of Brookland will be serving District 76 in House of Representatives. Lenderman received 3,963 votes to Jim martin's 2,914.

Rick Crawford won the U.S. House District 1 seat with 90,209 votes to Chad Causey 76,222 votes. Ken Adler received 8,252 votes with 20 going to write-ins.

Incumbent U.S. Senator Blanche Lincoln was defeated by John Boozman with a 56-39 percent margin. Boozman came in with 432,029 votes with Lincoln receiving 279,067. Other challengers were Trevor Drown with 24,477 votes and John Gray 13,984 votes.

Governor Mike Beebe defeated Jim Keet by 485,974 to 241,586 votes. Jim Lendall received 14,057 votes.

Mark Darr received 371,517 votes to Shane Broadway's 360,201 in the Lieutenant Governor's race.

Dustin McDaniel received 505,311 to win the Attorney General's race with Rebekah Kennedy receiving 184,708 to marc Rosson's 2,747.

For Secretary of State Mark Martin received 374,130 to Pat O'Brien's 358,806.

In the State Treasurer race Martha Shoffner received 460,509 votes to Bobby Tullis 220,219.

Charlie Daniels received 485,384 votes for State Auditor and Mary Hughes-Willis received 202,155.

John Thurston received 377,407 votes for Land Commissioner to L.J. Bryant's 342,963.

Karen Baker defeated Tim Fox in the Supreme Court Justice 6 race.

Three amendments were approved by Arkansas voters. The right to hunt and fish amendment was approved by an 82-18 margin. Amendment 2 was approved by a 64-36 margin and Amendment 3, was approved by a 62-38 margin.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: