Monette receives Rural Community Grant

Thursday, October 28, 2010

LITTLE ROCK, AR- Governor Mike Beebe and Department of Rural Services Director Butch Calhoun presented $186,592.69 to 17 rural communities selected for Fiscal Year 2011 Cycle I funding through the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Program at an awards ceremony held October 18, 2010 in the Governor's Reception Room at the Arkansas State Capitol.

Pictured are, from left: Royal Tilley, Mayor Jerry Chub Qualls, Rep. Ray Kidd, Ernestine Harrell, Governor Mike Beebe, ARDC Commissioner Dale Freeman, Louise Baker, DRS Director Butch Calhoun, ARDC Chair Wayne Nichols. (Not pictured: Senator Paul Bookout)

In attendance were representatives receiving an Arkansas Rural Community Development Grant award on behalf of Monette in Craighead County. The City of Monette received $5,250 to put a new roof on the Buffalo Island Museum.

The Department of Rural Services works in partnership with the Arkansas Rural Development Commission to administer the Arkansas Rural Community Grant Programs in three cycles each year. Incorporated cities and towns and unincorporated communities in rural areas of less than 3,000 in population are eligible to apply for assistance through the mayor or county judge's office.

For more information about the Department of Rural Services and their grant programs contact Butch Calhoun at 1-888-RURAL-AR.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: