Smith takes ArkanSTAR! Award

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Tanner Smith, 2010 graduate of Manila High School, has been named the winner of the 2010 ArkanSTAR! Award.

Tanner Smith with Judy and Bob Pest, founders of the Ozark Foothills Film Festival. (photo provided)

The ArkanSTAR! Award winner is named by T Tauri, the youth division of the Ozark Foothills Film Festival, and is given to the most outstanding youth filmmaker in Arkansas.

T Tauri holds workshops for young filmmakers each summer on the campus of the University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville. Tanner served as a teaching assistant at this year's script to screen camp.

The final screening and awards segment of the T Tauri Youth Film Festival were held Saturday, July 31, at UACCB's Independence Hall. Two of Tanner's films, "Second Chance" and "We are the Future of the Movies" were official selections of T Tauri's film festival, chosen from among 144 entries from 17 states and Canada, and both were screened during the festival.

Tanner also writes movie reviews for T Tauri's website,

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: