Honnoll elected Commander of Army of Trans-Mississippi

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Honnoll Elected Commander of Army of the Trans-Mississippi Shaver Camp awarded numerous Awards at Reunion

From left: Scout Bob Hare of Joensboro, Adjutant M. Ray Jones, III of Jonesboro, Bobbie F. Barnett with the Lee Award of Ravenden, Sgt. At Arms Dale Barnett of Ravenden, and newly elected Commander of the ATM W. Danny Honnoll of Jonesboro.

Recently at the National Reunion of the Sons of Confederate Veterans, the Col. Robert G. Shaver Camp #1655 of Jonesboro won numerous medals and awards. The SCV 115th Reunion took place in Anderson, S.C., this month with over 500 members from across the nation attending.

W. Danny Honnoll was elected to command the Army of the Trans-Mississippi of the Sons of Confederate Veterans. Todd Owens of Ruston, La., was elected Councilman of the ATM. Honnoll is Commander of the a Shaver Camp of Jonesboro and Colonel of the 30th Arkansas Infantry living historians of Arkansas.

W. Danny Honnoll, newly elected Commander of the Army of Trans-Mississippi. (photos provided)

The Shaver Camp of Jonesboro won the Dr. George R. Taber Award for the Best Camp in the SCV west of the Mississippi River and the Army of Trans Mississippi Army. The Shaver Camp has won this award for the past two years.

The Jonesboro Camp was represented by Comdr. W. Danny Honnoll, Adjutant M. Ray Jones III, 1st Lt. Comdr. Harold L. Hunt, Dale Barnett, Bobbie F. Barnett and Scout Robert "Bob" Hare at the SCV reunion.

Captain M. Ray Jones, III of Jonesboro was re-appointed quarter-master-in-chief for the SCV. Honnoll was also re-appointed Aide to Camp at the national SCV level.

Chuck McMichael of Shreveport, La., serving as commander of the SCV was in charge of this year's reunion. Michael Given of Beaufort, S.C., was elected Commander in Chief of the SCV.

Bobbie Frances Barnett of Ravenden received the Lt. Gen. Stephen Dill Lee Award. (This awarded is given to those that have made a substantial contribution on the national level through their actions, efforts and deeds to honor and defend the good name of Confederate soldiers, to perpetuate the high principles with which they conducted themselves both on and off the field of battle, and to ensure the true history of the South is presented to future generations).

Commander Honnoll nominated Bobbie Barnett and as SCV Awards chairman said, "Bobbie Barnett bar none is the best at portraying a widow or mother of a fallen Confederate Soldier!" Bobbie's husband Dale Barnett escorted her forward to accept the award from Honnoll and Commander in Chief M. "Chuck" McMichael of Shreveport, La. Ms. Barnett has worked with the SCV and reenacting for more than 40 years, she is also Matron of Honor of the Shaver Camp in Jonesboro.

Adjutant Jones said the Lee Award is the highest award given to a non-member of the Sons of Confederate Veterans and Bobbie is the only one ever from Arkansas to receive the Lee Award."

Dale Barnett said, "Every year we buy fresh flowers to lay on Confederate Veterans graves all over Arkansas and the South. The main events we attend are the David O. Dodd Memorial in January, Gen. Patrick R. Cleburne in March and Confederate Flag/Heritage Day around the time of Easter."

Honnoll thanked the Barnetts for all that they do to remember the Confederate fallen.

The Shaver Camp of Jonesboro won this year's SCV Judah P. Benjamin Award for a scrapbook in a camp with more than 50 members or over. This is the Shaver Camp's third scrapbook award in 10 years and two of the last three presented.

Shaver Camp Commander Honnoll received the SCV Distinguished Service Medal. The Commander-in-Chief presents this medal for outstanding service in a position of responsibility to the Sons of Confederate Veterans. Honnoll also received the Commander-in-Chief Award for performing exceptional duty on behalf of the Commander-in-Chief during his term of office -- only six of these was presented at this year's reunion.

Others from the Shaver Camp receiving awards were Scout Robert Hare and Adjutant M. Ray Jones, III received the Meritorious Service Medal (for outstanding service to the SCV.

Jimmy Steven of Trumann and 1st Lt. Comdr. Harold L. Hunt of Jonesboro were presented the Commendation Award/Medal for meritorious service or achievement at the Camp, Brigade, or Division level.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: