[Nameplate] Overcast ~ 61°F  
High: 80°F ~ Low: 51°F
Wednesday, Mar. 29, 2017

Junior Rebel Athletes Honored

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Riverside honored their junior high athletes May 6 during the annual Athletic Banquet held in Caraway.

Riverside junior high basketball award winners are Lindsey Bennett, Jordan Miller and Kenzley Wilson.
Riverside junior high basketball award winners are Braden Peaster and Logan Meurer. Not pictured is Alteeno Sain.
Head coach Buster Campbell's junior high boys basketball awards went to Logan Meurer who claimed Best Free Throw Percentage and Best Field Goal Percentage. Meurer hit 71 percent of his foul shots and finished the year nailing 48 percernt of his field goal tries. Braden Peaster claimed awards for Most Steals and Most Assists. Peaster dished out 91 assists on the year and came away with 81 steals. Alteeno Sain won the awards for Most Rebounds and Blocked Shots. Sain swatted away 66 shots attempted by Rebel opponents. Meurer, Peaster and Sain were all named to the 2A-3 All-Conference team.

Other members of the junior boys basketball team, which finished with a 14-13 overall record and a 4-8 conference mark included Brock Adams, Robert Hale, Ben Hensely, Jacob Jordan, Logan Moyer, Rustin Peaster, Zach Reese, Wes Sanders, Jake Spencer, Travis Spencer, Juan Trujillo, Alexander Walker, Caleb Waugh, Cody Wells, and Dylan Wright.

Matthew Mann, Michael Mann and Blaine McClung served as team managers while Kevin Hall served as assistant coach.

Riverside junior high basketball team, 2009-2010 are, from left: Back -- Cassie Harder-Neely, Kenadi Callahan, Jordan Miller, Kenzley Wilson, Anna Brickell, Kaitlyn Hale, Gattlin Hale, Lindsey Bennett. Front -- Susan Sailor, Chelsea Nichols, Bailey Davis, Natalie McCormick, Sydney Emery.
Riverside Lady Rebel coach Carrie Redman handed Kenzley Wilson awards for Best Free Throw Percentage as well as Most Assists and Most Steals. Wilson connected on 52 percent from the free throw line. The eighth grader dished out 53 assists on the year while coming away with 39 steals. Jordan Miller claimed awards for Best Field Goal Percentage and Most Rebounds. Miller shot 47 percent from the field while snaring 135 rebounds on the season. Lindsey Bennett won the award for Most Blocked Shots. Wilson and Emily Manues were named to the 2A-3 All-Conference team.

Other members of the junior girls basketball team were Taylor Archer, Anna Brickell, Kenadi Calahan, Bailey Davis, Sydney Emery, Emily Jordan, Gattlin Hale, Kaitlyn Hale, Abby Love, Natalie Milligan, Cassie Harder-Neely, Chelsea Nichols, Ashlin Sailor and Susan Sailor.

Team manager was Tegan Madden while Lori Butler served as assistant coach.

Riverside junior high basketball team are, from left: Back -- Brock Adams, Dylan Wright, Logan Moyer. Middle -- Robert Hale, Cody Wells, Wes Sanders, Logan Meurer, Ben Hensley, Caleb Waugh, Jacob Jordan. Front -- Jake Spencer, Braden Peaster. Not pictured Alteeno Sain.
Riverside's junior boys track team included Brock Adams, Devon Austin, Adam Casey, Victor Cerda, Ramon Garcia, Lathe Lunsford, Logan Meurer, Braden Peaster, James Schultz, Marcos Shepard, Jake Spencer, Travis Spencer, Kollin Stone, Wes Tompkins, Juan Trujillo, Matthew Turner and Dylan Wright. Head track coach was Carrie Redman.

The Lady Rebel track squad included Lindsey Bennett, Anna Brickell, Allie Burch, Sydney Emery, Kasey Fletcher, Emily Jordan, Gattlin Hale, Cassie Harder-Neely, Summer Holden, Leslie Lyles, Jordan Miller, Natalie Milligan, Chelsea Nichols, Trisha Null, Caitlyn Sailor, Susan Sailor, Ashlyn Snyder, Irene Sustaita, Lauren Weaver and Kenzley Wilson. Head coach was Carrie Redman while Terry Conner served as assistant coach.

Riverside junior high cheerleaders included Allie Burch, Kylie Colmus, Molly Davis, Amber Fletcher, Brittany Frazier, Lindsey Gamble, MaKayla Lyles, Chaney McLean, Trisha Null, Madison Qualls, Ashton Raney and Kayla Zamora. Kristen Emery and Brandi Wallace served as cheerleading sponsors.

Riverside junior high boys track team, pictured are, from left: Back -- Victor Cerda, Matthew Turner, Logan Meurer, Braden Peaster, Brock Adams, Dylan Wright, Adam Casey. Front -- Jake Spencer, James Schultz, Lathe Lunsford.
Riverside junior high track team pictured are, from left: Back -- Cassie Harder-Neely, Catlyn Sailor, Chelsea Nichols, Jordan Miller, Kenzley Wilson, Natalie McCormick, Anna Brickell, Sydney Emery, Gattlin Hale, Lindsey Bennett. Front Susan Sailor, Trisha Null, Leslie Lyles, Allie Burch.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: