Robert James "Bobby" Markin

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Robert "Bobby" Markin, 71, passed from this life on July 19, 2009, at Arkansas Methodist Medical Center. He is now absent from the body, but present with his Lord. He attended Calvary Full Gospel Church in Cardwell, Mo.

Bobby was born Aug. 24, 1937 near Monette. He was born to Olgia Mae Markin who passed away when he was very young. He was raised by his grandparents, James Thomas Markin and Ola Pearl Markin and later by Junior and Evelyn Markin of Monette.

He was preceded in death by his parents, grandparents and an uncle J.T. Markin of Michigan.

He is survived by his loving wife of almost 45 years, Belinda Gibson Markin of the home. He is also survived by a brother, Steve Markin of Paragould; three sisters, Janiece Robbins and Marla Lewis of Jonesboro and Pam Littlefield of Bentonville. Bobby also left behind a large extended family of brothers-in-law, sisters-in law, many loving nieces, nephews and cousins who will greatly miss him.

Bobby served in the United States Army as a Military Police during the late 1950s and early 1960s. He was a self employed used auto dealer for many years both in St. Louis, Mo., and Paragould. He was a kind, gentle, and generous man with a great sense of humor. He drove many miles over the past few years as he visited with friends, relatives, and elderly people who loved him. Many will remember him as the "toothpick man" because he almost always had a toothpick in his mouth and a smile on his face.

Visitation will be from 6-9 p.m. Tuesday, July 21, at Mitchell Funeral Home in Paragould. The funeral was 1:30 Wednesday, July 22, at Calvary Full Gospel Church in Cardwell with Mitchell Funeral Home in charge. Pastor Leland Dement conducted the service with the assistance of Rev. Hank Deslatte and Rev. Terry Miller. Interment was in McGrew Cemetery in Senath, Mo.

Serving as active pallbearers were Steve Markin, Lonnie Gibson, Jr., Bach McAteer, Alex McAteer, Allen McAteer, Tony Elias, Kyle Brown, Matthew Davidson, Chad Robbins, Blake McFarlin, Josh Markin and Steve Gibson.

Honorary pallbearers were Leon Brinkley, Karry Davis, Jim Owens, Doyle Johnson, Raymond Miller, Doyn Shaw, Joe Vangilder, Lester Bates, Doye Bayird, Terry Johnson and Archie Johnson.

Lasting memorials may be sent to McGrew Cemetery in care of Senath State Bank, PO Box 790, Senath, Mo, 63876.

The online guestbook is