Leachville Housing Authority staff honored

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Staff at the Leachville Housing Authority was honored with a surprise dinner on Monday, Nov. 24, at the community center.

The Leachville Housing Authority staff was honored with a surprise appreciation dinner Monday, Nov. 24. Pictured are, from left: Brian Davis, maintenance; Betty Jo Eldried, executive director; and Nikki Wildy, assistant director. (Town Crier photo/Revis Blaylock)

Resident council, residents, and family members were on hand to offer their appreciation for the excellent job they do.

"The appreciation dinner was the best kept secret in town," Jo Ann Cardin, secretary/treasurer of the resident council, said. "We wanted to let these people know how much we appreciate the work they do."

Staff members include Betty Jo Eldried, executive director; Nikki Wildy, assistant executive director; Tommy Eldried, maintenance supervisor, and Brian Davis, maintenance.

Mayor Shelia Spurlock welcomed guests introducing the resident council and board.

Resident Council members include Barry Wells, president; Lisa Tucker, vice president; Geneva Coolson, welcoming chairman; JoAnn Cardin, secretary/treasurer; and Wava Martin, member. Directors are Wilburn Lovelady, Earl Towell, Leon Swihart, Stan Whitlow, Lois Hunter, and Monte Grimes, arbitrator.

"The Housing Authority is an important part of our city and we appreciate the way the staff cares for it and the residents," Mayor Spurlock said.

The staff was presented a plaque for their "excellent work and dedication to the safe, clean, pleasant environment of Honey Cypress apartments."

"You, the residents, make my job easier," Ms. Eldried said.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: