Ronnie Kennett inducted into the 2008 Hall of Distinction

Friday, November 28, 2008

Ronnie Kennett of Leachville was one of 35 athletes inducted into the Arkansas Tech University Hall of Distinction in the Intercollegiate Athletics category. The ceremony was held in conjunction with homecoming festivities 2008.

Ronnie Kennett (second from right) was inducted into the Arkansas Tech University Hall of Distinction in the Intercollegiate Athletics category on Nov. 8 in conjunction with Homecoming festivities. On hand for the presentation were, from left: Dean Wilburn of Harrison, former teammate of Kennett and presently on the Tech Board of Trustees; William R. "Bud" Harper of Fort Smith, board of trustees chairman; and Dr. Robert C. Brown, president of Arkansas Tech University. Photo provided)

Kennett is a 1954 graduate of Leachville High School and a 1958 graduate of Arkansas Tech University.

The Distinction in Intercollegiate Athletics category was added to the Hall of Distinction in 2005 as a way of honoring outstanding student-athletes and coaches who achieved recognition and gained prestige for the university.

Kennett was a 1958 NAIA All-American and an All-AIC selection at Arkansas Tech. Kennett played guard and was just the third Wonder Boy to ever receive All-America honors in basketball.

During his college years at Tech he was a member of two AIC championship teams and three NAIA National Tournament teams. In 1955 the squad made it all the way to the NAIA Final Four.

During Kennett's sophomore season he hit 13 consecutive free throws in an NAIA District 17 Tournament game establishing a new tournament record for consecutive free throws and free throws made in a game.

Kennett earned basketball All-America honors in 1958 following his senior season at Arkansas Tech.

After college Kennett returned to hometown of Leachville and had a 25-year career as a farmer. Since 1985 he has served as vice president and land manager for Adams Land Company in Leachville. He is married to the former Sandra Johnson.

He has been very community involved and has served on the Leachville School Board, the Leachville City Council, the Mississippi County Quorum Court and the Arkansas Northeastern College Board of Trustees.

Other Arkansas Tech All America basketball players inducted into the 2008 Hall of Distinction were J.P. Lovelady, 1961; Kenny Saylors 1962-63; Terry Hankton, 1972; Alan Cozar, 1989; and Maxie Mathis 1991-93; along with ten women's basketball players; nine football players; one golfer; eight track and field; and one volleyball.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: