NEA East Titans take State

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

The NEA East Titans became 8 and under Little League Machine Pitch State Champions Tuesday night, July 8, with two victories over Bismarck. The Titans played a total of nine games after winning their first contest on July 4 against Little Rock West 10-0 and then dropping a 10-9 decision to White Hall. The loss put the Titans in the loser's bracket where they ran off seven consecutive wins against Smackover, Pine Bluff, the NEA Travelers, Arkadelphia, White Hall, and eventually Bismarck.

NEA Titans are, from left: Bottom - Bryce Towery, Dalton Brumley, Hayden Austin, Canon Walling, and Carlos Mata. Middle - Brock Birmingham, Dillon Turner, Taylor Layne, Andrew McFarlin, Chayse Carmichael, and Brady Clark. Back - Coaches Chip Layne, Brian Clark, Trey Austin, Morgan Walling, and Michael McFarlin. (photo provided)

The State Championship capped off a 30-2 postseason which saw the only two losses against White Hall and Jonesboro Blue 12-11 back in mid June. Jonesboro Blue won the 8 and under Cal-Ripken state tournament the same day the Titans won their Little League State Championship. The Titans had beaten Jonesboro Blue in two tournament finals before the 12-11 setback. Including the loss to White Hall the Titans still managed to outscore their opponents 90-26 over the nine games.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: