Area seniors graduate

Thursday, May 22, 2008

Buffalo Island Central Class of 2008 graduated May 15 at the Mustang Athletic Complex. Baccalaureate was held Sunday, May 11.

Area seniors bid high school farewell last week during graduation ceremonies. (Town Crier photo/Revis Blaylock)

The class chose colors of red and black. The pink carnation was the class flower.

The 2008 class motto is "Life brings tears, smiles, and memories. The tears dry, the smiles fade, but the memories last forever."

The Class on was "I'm Not Gonna Cry" by Corey Smith.

Class sponsor was Trish Brightwell.

Fifty-one seniors graduated from BIC. Honor students are Savanah Layne Stewart, Valedictorian; Haley D. Smith, Salutatorian; Jessica Lauryn Smith, Cortney Elizabeth Thomas, Anthony Morgan Hendrickson, Spencer Greyson Carroll, Jessica Shepard, and Samantha Leigh Fowler.

Honor students must maintain a 3.50 grade point average on a 4.0 scale and have completed requirements for a college preparatory or technical preparatory diploma.

Other graduates are Britnay Dawn Barnett, Blake Smithee, Jeff Steele, Whitney Willyerd, Charlye Ross, Mathew Honnoll, Michael Donner, Brittany Berry, Seth Garrett, Nikki Barger, Tiffany Shryl McMinn, Haley D. Smith, Heather Woods, April White, Michael Thorpe, Michael Scott Ryan, Eric Puckett, Nathan Perrin, Jansen Newcom, Nicholas A. Sparkman, Trevor James Matheny, Lance Nettles, Sunshine Sherrod, Shane Harville, Richard Holcomb, Lee Birdno, Shane Barnes, Jordan Griggs, Zack Wilson, Chelsie Nix, Chad Williams, Megan McMinn, Callie Beaird, Sarah Holden, Ethan Wheeler, Maegan M. Cantrell, Justin Lambert, Cameron Cole, Astid Hernandez, Zach Bandy, Shelby Penix, Cameron Wade Overfield, Amber Smithee.


Manila Class of 2008 held graduation ceremony at 7 p.m. Friday, May 16, at the Manila High School Gymnasium.

The Class Motto is "Our Goal is to influence history instead of merely observing it."

They chose as their class flower the red tulip. The Class Song is "I'm Not Gonna Cry" by Corey Smith.

The class colors are red and white.

Graduates are Emily Baker, Justin Benham, Samuel Bibbs, Jonna Blankenship, Blake Boling, A.J. Borden, Emily Brewer, Amy Browning, Kelsey Cherry, Kyle Cherry, Michael Clifton, Michele Daniel, Heather Dozhier, Myra Earnest, Jace Ryan Elkins, Andrew Fleeman, Jessica Fleeman, Candice Halford, Hunter Hall, Amanda Hamilton, Frank Hamilton, Terri Hill, Jesse Hogue, Carey Keith, Jeremy Lasater, Blaine Lawrence, Jordan Lee, Ross Malloy, Bobbie Martin, Kasie May, Amber Mays, Trey McCormick, Jada McDaniel, John McVay, Matthew McWhirter, Kenny Miles, Jennifer Miller, Weston Moore, Robert Morris, Chad Nunnally, Wendy O'Neil, Marcus Oates, Matthew Oates, Jessica Osborn, Stephanie Owens, Vince Parker, Laura Ramsey, Nathan Robbins, Heather Ross, Cortnee Scoggins, J. T. Short, Tiffany Sparks, Michael Stone, Patricia Stone, Cameron Stratton, Katie Studebaker, Cady Taylor, Shanda Textor, Rachel Thieme, Dustin Thomas, Logan Towles, Vanessa Wagner, Drew Warren, Jessica Wilson, Lane Dallas Woods.

Manila had 17 honor graduates. Valedictorian was Jessica June Fleeman. Michael Aaron Stone was Salutatorian. Nathan Lee Robbins graduated with High Honors. These three had over a 4.0 grade point average. Honor students with 3.5 or above grade point averages are Andrew William Fleeman, Katie Irene Studebaker, Stephanie Louise Owens, Joshua Blaine Lawrence, Andrew Curtis Warren, Kyle Matthew Cherry, Laura Marie Ramsey, Candice LeeAnn Halford, Amy Nicole Browning, Jennifer Elizabeth Miller, Loren Ervin McCormick III, Logan Bryann Towles, Tiffany Leighann Sparks, and Myra Elizabeth Earnest.


The Riverside Class of 2008 has 53 members. Graduation ceremony was held Friday, May 16. Garrett Weaver presented the invocation with Superintendent Tommy Knight welcoming graduates and guests. Garrett Weaver offered the Salutatory address and Megan Short the Valedictorian address. Judy Perrin was the speaker.

The class song was "I'm not Gonna Cry."

Principal Chad Jordan recognized scholarship recipients.

Mike Hook, president of the School Board and Superintendent Knight presented the diplomas. Travis Mays gave the benediction.

Sponsors for the 2007-08 Senior Class were Brenda Buerkle, Terry Conner and Edna Heidelberg.

Ushers serving for graduation were Katie Brown, Jacob Kelley, Katlin Brewer, and John Pettit.

The Class chose maroon and white as their colors and the rose as the class flower.

The Motto is "There is nothing we can do better than seeking to become still better than we are."

Members of the class are Robin Anderson, Cody Bard, Tim Barrett, Jared Bland, Tammie Boatman, Kristen Brewer, Jerra Byrum, Kate Caldwell, Cody Cameron, Ricky Corbin, Brice Davis, Kasey Davis, Kassie Douglas, Nathan Eldridge, Kelsey Faulkner, Christina Ferrara, Eric Fox, Glen Graham, Pete Helms, Casey Hook, Kourtnei Jackson, Kyle Jeffers, Justin Kelems, Kaesha Koons, Jamie Lawrence, Travis Mays, Britney McCammon, Amber Murphy, Helen Peridore, Brian Peyton, Wes Poag, Ronnie Reed, Cody Richardson, Stevie Robison, Jacob Saffell, Magan Short, Jack Sipes, Audrey Smith, Jackie Smith, Ashley Staggs, Kara Stevens, Kyle Steward, Micheal Sullivan, Tim Trinidad, Bradley Tucker, Kelsey Turner, Dalton Watson, Caleb Weathers, Garrett Weaver, Devin Weaver, Jeremy Wisham, Nikki Wood and Danielle Wycoff.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: