Manila principal contracts renewed

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

Town Crier News Staff

All principal contracts were renewed unanimously for the 2008-09 school year following an executive session of the Manila School Board. Principals are Diane Baugher, lower elementary; Robin Baugher, assistant principal; Diane Wagner, middle school; and Pam Chipman, high school.

Superintendent Pam Castor presented three proposed calendars for the 2008-09 school year. She informed board members the calendars will go to the Personnel Policy Committee to be voted on by staff before a final decision is made.

Castor discussed several issues during the administrative reports, informing the board no date had been set on the law suit and the State Board rejection of the proposed Charter School funding involving all Mississippi County high schools and Arkansas Northeastern College.

"The State Board said the proposal did not meet the criteria for a charter school," she said. "We will be looking at other possibilities."

She said the guidelines for Partnership Grant funding are being rewritten and the deadline for application extended.

"We will have to look at the new rules and see where we are," Castor said.

Board members Johnny McCain, Jackie Hill, Justin Veach, Tony Crowell, Steve Metheny, Scott Misner and Tracey Reinhart toured the new seventh and eighth grade building.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: