Wayne Taylor Memorial Golf Tournament held in Manila

Tuesday, September 5, 2006

The annual Wayne Taylor Memorial Golf Tournament was held Aug. 22, at the Big Lake Country Club in Manila. Twelve teams participated in the 3-person scramble, which included lunch and souvenir tee shirts.

CenturyTel, Home Oxygen Care of Manila, First National Bank, Heritage Bank, Liberty Bank, SouthBank, Chapter AC PEO, and Farmers Market of Manila sponsored the tournament. In addition, the Chapter AC PEO of Leachville provided lunch for participants and served as hostesses for the day. Scott Gifford also donated the insurance policy for the "Hole in One" prize.

"We can't thank our many sponsors enough for their support and the Chapter AC PEO for the wonderful lunch. The ladies made the day lots of fun and made everyone attending feel very welcome," said Rachel Gifford, ANC Dean for Development.

This tournament is held annually to raise scholarship funds for Arkansas Northeastern College students who are residents of the Buffalo Island and the Bootheel of Missouri areas. The tournament garnered its name following the death of former ANC Foundation Chairman W. Wayne Taylor, who helped create the tournament seven years ago.

"It was great to see members of Mr. Taylor's family who came out to spend the day with us. Taylor's son, Jon of Jonesboro, and grandson J.P. Taylor of Colorado, played in the tournament. Also, his wife Janet, spent the full day with the PEO ladies preparing lunch, welcoming guests and whatever else she could do," Gifford said.

Gifford also sang the praises of the Big Lake Country Club staff for the wonderful job they did in making the tournament the success that it was.

"The country club staff is always so helpful with the tournament. They really run the tournament for us, and we greatly appreciate all that they do."

ANC wishes to thank the many sponsors and tee-box sponsors who continue to make the tournament such a successful event. Anyone interested in donating toward the Wayne Taylor Memorial Scholarship Fund can contact Gifford at 870-838-2902.

Hole in One Sponsor: Gifford Crop Consulting.

Diamond Tee Box $100+: Janet E. Taylor; The Wayne Taylor Family;;Eastin Family; Farmers Bank & Trust Co.; Ronnie and Sandra Kennett; PEO Sisterhood Chapter AC; Mississippi County Library System; Flash Market #47; Howard Funeral Service -- Manila -- Leachville; Towell & Sons Auto Sales; Lifetime Medical Supply Inc.; Great River Medical Center; Southworth Products; D&G Rentals -- Dennis & Gail Farmer; Adams Land Company; A Plus Storage; Robertson Brothers Furniture, Inc.

Gold Tee Box - $75: Ashley Construction.

Silver Tee Box - $50: General Insurance of Leachville; Delta Drug; Dr. Marty Harderson; Jack E. Scovoronski; Leachville Discount Drugs; Gamble Mini Storage; Tucker's Shop & Salvage; Bruce Wilson D.D.S.; Ladd's Auto Parts; Hutchison Well Drilling; Vineyard Plus; Earl H. Wildy, Inc.; TEE Box Sponsors.

Tournament winners were:

Championship Flight

First Place - Chad Costner, Jeff Costner and Darrin Malone.

Second place - Herb Loveless, Bob Moore and Bob White.

Third place - Jay Ziolko, Rick Harrison and William Izmarien.

First Flight

First place - Kenny Jackson, James Keith and Jonathan Mayes.

Second place - Mari Hayden, John David Bridges and Keith Wallace.

Third place - Wayne Shedd, Linda Shedd and Max Schrader.

Second Flight

First place - Rodney Harding and Matt Edens.

Second place - Paul Stout, Bobbie Shrum and Keith Morgan.

Third place - Kevin Barron, Robert Smith and Rick Lucius.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: