BIC board proposes combining positions

Wednesday, July 19, 2006

Buffalo Island Central board of directors met Monday evening, July 10, at the junior high library in Leachville and voted to hire six personnel, confirmed transfers and employee reassignments and accepted three student transfers.

New personnel included Marion Sparkman, West cafeteria; Ladonna Smithee, West cafeteria; Becky Brown, East Elementary; Stephanie Decker, West Elementary; William Eubanks, instrumental music; and Tina Fowler, Pre-K director and instructor, if grant approval is received.

Transfers and reassignments included Alesha Rolland, from home economics to resource instructor, junior high; Alene Shields, from junior high math to home economics; Rita Scroggins, from West cafeteria to East cafeteria; Terrie Selby, from East Elementary to West Elementary; and Cindy Crawford, from half time librarian West Elementary to half literacy specialist to full time librarian East campus.

Three student transfers were accepted, which included: Cody Booth, 12, from Riverside to BIC; Monica Sevier, 15, from BIC to Jonesboro; and Zachary Carter, 15, from Brookland to BIC.

In other business:

*Membership was renewed with the Arkansas School Board Association.

*Proposed budget of expenditures was approved for the 2007-2008 school year.

*Lynn Smith's resignation was accepted for his current assignment effective June 30, 2006, and he was rehired in August with new assignments and duties as needed.

*The board went into executive session for 35 minutes to consider employee promotion but took no action after reconvening.

"This will allow Smith to draw his retirement and for us to realize a savings," Superintendent George Edd Holland said.

*The board was updated on progress toward securing a softball field for the high School girls' team. BIC Superintendent Holland said Monette city alderman Tom Carroll informed the school the work toward moving the requested access road was making progress and a successful agreement was expected soon.

*Confirmation for the Pre-K grant application has not been received. The district has obtained modular building unit bids, in preparation for notification.

*Holland and the board discussed compliance with Act 2151, of 2005, and the proposed change in board member structure from eight members to seven.

The existing board is structured as follows, positions 1, 3, 5, 7 representing the original Leachville district and positions 2, 4, 6, 8 representing the original Monette district. All members in all of these positions are elected at large.

The board proposed to combine positions 1 and 2 to represent both the old districts and the position is to be called position 1. Remaining positions 3, 5, 7 will remain the same and position 4, 6, 8 will become positions 2, 4 and 6 respectively.

One member from each original district shall be elected each year except when the position 1 term expires. Position 1 will represent both original districts and candidates for position 1 may come from either original district. All board members terms will be for four years.

*Board discussed stipend allotments for after-hour activities. Holland requested all stipends be made proportionate to the employee's salary.

The next regularly scheduled board meeting will be at 7 p.m. Aug. 14, in the Superintendents office on the Monette campus.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: