Jeff Rea named Caraway 2005 Man of the Year

Wednesday, July 6, 2005
Harold Browning (left), Caraway Lions Club president, presents Jeff Rea with the Person of the Year Award. (Town Crier photo/Revis Blaylock)

Jeff Rea of Caraway was named the 2005 Person of the Year at the 59th annual Fourth of July Celebration held on Saturday.

The award was presented following the parade and the flag raising that kicked off the all day activities. Harold Browning, president of the Caraway Lions Club, presented a plaque and the community's appreciation for Rea's dedicated service. Rea has taken an active role to help make the community a better, safer place to live.

The plaque was inscribed with the following dedication.

"It has been said that life is neither pain nor pleasure. It is serious business. Our Person of the Year takes his business serious. He has been an E.M.T. for Caraway Volunteer Ambulance Service for 25 years, retired as fire chief of Caraway Volunteer Fire Department after 20 years of service, dedicated weather spotter for our community, a member of Caraway Lions Club, and Master of Caraway Masonic Lodge.

Jeff is always ready to help any organization or person.

He has the spirit of self-sacrifice for helping others, and because of that, and the many hours he has poured in to this community, the Caraway Lions Club is proud to dedicate this July 4, 2005, picnic to you -- Jeff Rea."

The Persons of the Year award presented by the Lions Club since 1982 include Barry Barrett 1982; Royce Stubblefield 1983; Gale Cullum 1984; Albert Payne 1985; Bill Hook 1986; Vernon Dowless 1987; Frank Johnson 1988; Cliffie Gipson 1989; Wayne Fletcher 1990; Willard Pollard 1991; Bernard Berry 1992; Harold Browning 1993; Ronnie Harris 1994; Charles Brickell 1995; Charlotte Hicks, 1996; Asa Boatman 1997; Cheryl Schoolfield 1998; Roger Adcock 1999; Bill Foster 2000; Kenny Weathers 2001; Orwell Moore 2002; Marvin Browning 2003; Barry Riley 2004.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: