Wayne Taylor Memorial Golf Tournament held in Manila

Wednesday, June 29, 2005
Winenrs of the Chamionship Flight, first place, 2005 Wayne Taylor Memorial Golf Tournament are, from left: Sammy Parker, Steve Smith and Jim Calhoun.

The annual Wayne Taylor Memorial golf Tournament was held June 7 at the Big Lake Country Club in Manila. Seventeen teams participated in the 3-person scramble. Participants were treated to lunch and received souvenir t-shirts.

CenturyTel, Home Oxygen Care of Manila, First National Bank, Heritage Bank, Liberty Bank, SouthBank, and Southern Bank of Commerce sponsored the tournament. In addition, the Chapter AC PEO of Leachville provided a wonderful lunch for participants and served as hostesses for the day. Jim McClain of Blytheville also donated the insurance policy for the "Hole in One" prize, which included a free custom made golf club by Warrior Custom Golf for each participant.

"We just can't thank our many sponsors enough for their support and the Chapter AC PEO for the wonderful lunch. These ladies made the day so much fun and assed far more than just a lunch -- they made everyone feel welcome," Rachel Gifford, ANC Dean for Development, said.

The tournament is held annually to raise scholarship funds for Arkansas Northeastern College Students who are residents of the Buffalo Island and the Bootheel of Missouri areas and garnered its new name this year following the death of former ANC Foundation Chairman W. Wayne Taylor who helped create the tournament seven years ago.

"It was especially nice to see that Mr. Taylor's family came out to spend the day with us. Both of his sons, Jon and Mike Taylor of Jonesboro, and grandson J.P. Taylor of Colorado, played in the tournament, and his wife, Janet, stayed the entire day with the PEO ladies preparing lunch and whatever else she could do," Gifford said.

Gifford also sang the praises of the Big Lake Country Club staff or the wonderful job they did in making he tournament the success it was.

"The country club staff was so helpful and the course looked great. They really run the tournament for us and we greatly appreciate all they do," Gifford said.

ANC wishes to thank the many sponsors and tee-box sponsors who continue to make the tournament such a successful event.

Anyone interested in donating toward the Wayne Taylor Memorial Scholarship Fund can contact Gifford at (870) 838-2901.

Tournament winners for the 2005 event are:

Championship Flight:

First place team -- Sammy Parker, Steve Smith and Jim Calhoun.

Second place team -- Connie Adams, Jeremy Adams and Max Schrader.

Third place team -- Jeff Towell, Frankie Towell and Larry Towell.

First Flight:

First place team -- Larry Watson, troy Matthews, Vance Mace.

Second place team -- Robin Myers, Gaylon Rogers, Mary Alice Dement.

Third place team -- Julie Pierce, Jonathan Pierce, Gerald Pierce.

Second Flight:

First place team -- Rodney Harding, Trey Harding, Marty Riley.

Second place team -- Kevin Baron, William Izmerian, Robert Smith.

Third place team -- Mike Taylor, Jon Taylor and J.P. Taylor.

Tee Box sponsors were

Diamond ($100) -- The Wayne Taylor family ($200), The Jon Taylor Family, Janet Taylor, Chapter AC PEO, Ronnie and Sandra Kennett, Flash Market 47, Mississippi County Electric Co., Inc., Mississippi County Library System and College Library, Gifford Crop Consulting, Farmers Bank & Trust, Howard Funeral service -- Manila and Leachville, Towell and Son Auto Sales, Lifetime Medical Supply, Great River Medical center, Gipson Well Drilling.

Gold ($75) -- Farmers Car Quest, Inc., Sonic Drive-In.

Silver ($50) -- Today's Hair Salon, General Insurance of Leachville, Delta Drug, Dr. Marty Harderson, Jack E. Scovoronski, Baker Implement, Inc. Gamble's Mini Storage, Tucker's Shop and Salvage, Bruce Wilson, DDS, Leachville Discount Drugs, Robertson Brothers Furniture, Corner Mart, Ladd's Auto Parks, Hutchison Well Drilling, Monette Co-Op Gin, Inc., Ashley Construction, Wait Staff -- Jonesboro Country Club.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: