Local election results told

Thursday, November 11, 2004

Several local positions will be decided with run-off elections on Nov. 23. Early voting for the run-off positions will begin Nov. 15.

Mississippi County Circuit Clerk's three-way race was close with Mike Richardson, D-Blytheville 35.2 percent of the vote (4.700); Donna Mear Bray, I-Osceola, 34.8 percent of the vote (4,645); and Felicia Pierce I-Wilson 30 percent of the votes (3,975). Richardson and Bray will be in the run-off for the position.

Manila City Council seat Ward 3, Position 2 will also be decided with a run-off between Incumbent Tony Hawkins and Leroy Douglas. The position was the only contested Manila Council seat with Hawkins receiving 380 votes; Douglas 376; and Clint Murray 104.

Leachville Ward 3 Position 2 also ended with a run-off between Bill Hetler with 207 and Walter "Bob" Crites with 191. Leonard Hamilton received 125 votes.

Other Leachville City Council races were:

Ward 1, Postion 1 -- Teresa Johnson 352; Incumbent Monte Grimes 180.

Ward 2, Position 1 -- Tommy Stone 321; Incumbent Estus Williams 211.

Ward 3, Postion 1 -- Anna Beth Thomas 271; Incumbent Karen Wallace 263.

A run-off for the Caraway City Recorder position will be held between Marcia Stevens 217 and Lisa Taylor 133. Danny Dunigan, a third candidate for recorder received 115 votes.

Caraway City Council:

Ward 2 Position 1 -- Brent Powell 287; Sue Simpson 169.

Ward 3, Position 1 -- Marvin Browning 328; Roy Kelems 141.

Lake City Council:

Ward 1, Position 1 -- Mark Mann 350; Terry Chisnall 209

Ward 1, Position 2 -- Doug Stone 293; Donald Davis 261.

Ward 3, Position 1 -- Carolyn Caldwell 301; Harold Baker 267.

Mississippi County Justice of the Peace District 9 -- Incumbent Michael White 778; David Paschal 227.

Craighead County Justice of the Peace District 12 -- Charles Smith 1015; Tony Couch 912.

A recount will be held for the Representative District 76 post with democratic candidate Ray Kidd of Jonesboro ending on Tuesday with 4,802 and Republican candidate Byron Holt with 4,789

Mississippi County Coroner's race -- Incumbent Tommy Carney received 8,046 votes to Greg Delancy 5,312 votes.

In Mississippi County President Bush received 6,090 votes for re-election while Senator John Kerry received 7,536.

U.S. Sen. Blanche Lincoln won re-election with 545,968 votes while her opponent Jim Holt received 432,210. In Mississippi County Lincoln received 9,244 votes to Holt's 4,781.

Democrat, U.S. Rep. Marion Berry received 67 percent of the votes defeating challenger Vernon Humphrey R. In Mississippi County Berry received 9,802 votes to Humphrey's 3,843.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: