Walter Wayne Taylor - Leachville

Thursday, September 2, 2004

Walter Wayne Taylor, 80, of Leachville, died Sunday, Aug. 29, 2004, at St. Bernards Regional Medical Center in Jonesboro.

Born at McCrory, he was the son of the late A.G. and Elsie Smith Taylor and had been a Leachville resident since 1932.

He was the retired Leachville Postmaster with 36 years service in the U.S. Postal Service. He was an Army Veteran of both World War II and the Korean War. He was a 70 year member of the Leachville United Methodist Church having served as chairman of the Administrative Board, charge lay leader to the Annual Conference, lay speaker, church treasurer, Sunday School teacher and member of the choir.

He attended Arkansas State University and Mississippi State University and was past chairman and honorary member of the Arkansas Northeastern College Foundation Board in Blytheville. He was a former member of Leachville school Board and was a volunteer of Buffalo Island Elementary, East. He was also a volunteer of Guardian, Inc. and Monette Manor Nursing Home. He was a member of the Jonesboro Chapter of National Association of Retired Federal Employees, chairman of Leachville Housing Authority, Mississippi County Election Commission and former member of the Leachville Chamber of Commerce. He was a member of Blytheville International Visitors Council, Friends of the Ritz Civic Center, Buffalo Island Fine Arts Council and in 1992 was given the Masonic Community Award.

He is survived by his wife, Janet Eastin Taylor of the home; five sons, Mike Taylor and Jon Taylor, both of Jonesboro; Rev. Jim Eastin of Pidgeon Forge, Tenn., Kirk Eastin of Severville, Tenn., and Duke Eastin of Seymour, Tenn.; six grandchildren, Jonathan Paul Taylor, Kameron Patrick Taylor, Janet Marie Eastin, Marjorie Taylor, Natalie Warlow and Elsie Warlow.

The funeral will be held at 11 a.m. today (Tuesday) at Howard Funeral Chapel in Leachville with Dr. Earl Carter and Rev. Donnie Hudson officiating. Burial will follow in the Leachville Cemetery.

The family has asked that anyone wishing to leave a lasting memorial to consider the Leachville United Methodist Church or Arkansas Northeastern College at P.O. Box 709, Blytheville, Ark. 72315.

Active pallbearers are Paul Wildy, John Edwards, James Keith, Randy Jackson, Kenny Jackson, Joe Hultquist, Leon Swihart and Ronnie Kennett.

Honorary pallbearers include R.D. Jackson, Snowden Hawkins, Joe Wheeler, F.L. McHaney, Bud Selby, Tom Hitt, Ronnie Metcalf, Wilborn Lovelady, Frank Sweet and Jessie Johnson and The Sonshine Sunday School Class.