Riverside junior high athletes receive awards

Wednesday, May 21, 2003

Postseason awards were given out to the Riverside Rebel Junior High athletes and cheerleaders Tuesday night at a banquet held in the school cafeteria.

The highlight of the evening was when head basketball coach and athletic director Buster Campbell unveiled a new board honoring the junior Rebel boys basketball team for their accomplishments during the 2002-2003 season.

The Rebels posted a 22-5 record overall and finished 11-3 on the season. Riverside won the season opening Marmaduke Junior High Invitational Tournament and are the 3AA North Conference and District runner-ups.

The Rebels placed three players on the 3AA North All Conference Team headed by two time All-Conference point guard Tyler Timms.

Timms also received awards for most assists and steals. Timms dished out 101 assists on the year and came away with 112 steals.

Joining Timms on the All-Conference team were freshman M.J. Emery and eighth grader Jordan Adcock.

Adcock received awards for total rebounds, 161, and best free throw percentage, 73 percent.

The other individual award given went to Cody Rea for the best field goal percentage, 48 percent.

Rebel Coach Buster Campbell praised his team calling the season an outstanding one. Campbell went on to say he was proud of the entire team and also heaped praise on the parents and fans, called them the best around.

The Junior Lady Rebels placed two players on the All-Conference team, Samantha Dunigan and Marisa Johnson.

Head Coach Nancy Ritter also gave out individual awards. Free throw percentage went to Emilee Hook with 63 percent. Field goal percentage went to Samantha Dunigan with 38 percent. Dunigan also received the awards for most steals 62, assists 35, and rebounds 189.

Ritter also praised the entire team and said next year's groups should be even better. She went on to say how much she appreciated the work of Gene Turner who assisted with the team as well as Debbie Dunigan who kept the book and charts.

Ritter also heaped praise on public address announcer Ryan Fletcher and clock keeper Craig Schneiders for their work, dedication and reliability during the season.

Cheerleading awards were handed out by sponsors, Kristen Emery and Brandi Wallace. Co-Captains, Whitney Owens and Sarah Watson, both made all-American as did Mikala Wilkinson. The remainder of the squad includes Chelsea Gipson, Kourtnei Jackson, Ashlin Owens, Kristen Brewer and Kara Stevens.

Rounding out the Junior boys' basketball team were Tim Lawrence, Caleb McCluskey, Anthony Reece, Kris Kelton, Glen Graham, Garrett Qualls, Jordan Phillips, Blake Barnes, Brandon Davis, Michael Lawrence and Colton Bryan.

The remainder of the junior Lady Rebels' 2002-2003 team include Magan Adams, Kasey Davis, Kassie Douglas, Jona Dixon, Leah Miller, Shelby Miller, Amber Nelson, Shayna Payne, Kelsey Turner and Emma Wilson.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: