Manila Lions Club officers announced

Wednesday, July 3, 2002

The Manila Lions Club recently installed new officers. Outgoing president Terry Carr passed the gavel to Lion Gary Perkins who will serve as president. Other officers include Tracey Reinhart, first vice president; Monte Middleton, second vice president; Jerry Hitchcock, secretary/treasurer; Tomas Jaco, tail twister; and Larry Perkins, Lion tamer. Serving on the board of directors will be Jim Cheadle, Tom Jaco, Danny Robbins, Leroy Douglas, Gaylon Gammill, Gary Perkins and Terry Carr.

New president Gary Perkins presided at the Wednesday noon meeting speaking briefly on his recent visit to the campus of Lions World Services for the Blind in Little Rock.

"It is a wonderful place and it is amazing the work that is being done to help people," he said.

Perkins appointed Lion members Clell Castleman, Wayne Shedd, Danny Robbins and Scott Misner to the sight committee.

He appointed Monte Middleton as chairman for this year's annual Big Lake Chili Cook-Off. Past chairman Scott Misner volunteered to assist.

Tracey Carr and Tracey Reinhart were appointed to head fund-raisers.

Manila Club members voted unanimously to accept Craig Russell as a new member.

Lion Jim Cheadle spoke briefly on concerns of and possibilities of the widening of Highway 18.

He announced a town meeting to be held on Thursday at city hall to discuss the subject.

"Six or eight years ago when the plans were just beginning on the widening of Highway 18, the district engineer came and talked saying that before the plans were finalized there would be a community meeting. If we can get a consensus of what the citizens of Manila want, than we may can get a meeting. There is a great future in Manila," Cheadle said.

The Lions set a date for Friday, Aug. 16, for a fund-raising spaghetti supper to help pay for the restroom project at the Manila city park.

Through monetary donations and volunteer work, Lion Carr said the restrooms were nearing completion.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: