MCCC Golf tournament held at Big Lake

Wednesday, May 29, 2002
Front place Championship Flight winners in the MCCC Golf Tournament are, from left: Terry Brewer, Scott Gifford and Dana Donner. (photo provided)

Twelve three-person teams participated in the fourth annual Mississippi County Community College Foundation Scholarship Golf Tournament 2002. The tournament was held at the Big Lake Country Club in Manila on Monday, May 20. The sponsors and participants join together for a good cause - education. The funds raised form the annual event are used for scholarships for students in the Buffalo Island area and the Bootheel of Missouri.

Rachel Gifford, chairman for the golf tournament committee, said she is proud of all of the sponsors and participants that help make the tournament successful.

"We are also grateful to Big Lake Country Club for letting us use the course at no charge," she said. "The tournament raised approximately $3,000 this year for scholarships."

Members of the tournament committee are Wayne Taylor, Mary Jon Ashley, Dick Pace, Amanda Glass, Dan Robbins and Jennifer Lewis.

Sponsors for the tournament are First National Bank, Heritage Bank, MidSouth Bank, SouthBank, and Farmers Market.

Gifford said she also appreciates everyone that sponsored Tee Boxes for the tournament. The Diamond Sponsors include Dick and Deb Pace, Chapter AC PEO, CenturyTel, and Mississippi County Library System and College Library. Gold Sponsors include Farmers Bank and Trust, Ronnie and Sandra Kennett, Hawkins Gin and Elevator, Ashley Construction, Wesson Farms and Farmer's Car Quest, Inc. The Silver sponsors include Vineyard plus, Delta Drug, Missco Implement Co., Dr. Marty Harderson, Wayne and Janet Taylor, Leachville discount Drugs, Dunigan Brothers, Inc. Towell and Sons Auto Sales, Inc., Baker Implement Company, General Insurance Agency of Leachville, Kirby and Misner Appraisal Service, Steaks Plus, Inc., Corner Mart, Stan Whitlow, Black Oak Gin Co., Inc., Monette Discount Drugs, Jr. Food Mart, Sonic Drive-In of Manila, Tucker's Shop and Salvage, Gamble Mini Storage, and Ladd's Auto Parks.

Tee off time was 8 a.m. Three person teams included Dick Pace, Bob Blankenship and Kenny Lomax; Bob Goodman, Billy Watson and Randy Hutchison; Jay Ziolko, Keith Carter and William Ismerian; Dr. John Sullins, Ronnie Kennett and Joe Gurley; Robin Myers, Jonathan Myers and Mary Alice Dement; Tracey Reinahrt, Dan Williams and Mark Miller; Mary Jon Ashley, Sonny Ashley and Terry Carr; Larry Watson, Troy Matthews and Paul Chipman; Scott Gifford, Dana Donner and Terry Brewer; Barry Kirby, Bill Misner and Brian Kirby; Bob White, Roland Wells and Herb Loveless; Max Schrader, Gene Adams and Jeremy Adams.

First, second and third place trophies were awarded to the top three teams in the Championship flight, 1st flight and 2nd flight.

The next MCCC Foundation tournament will be held Monday, Sept. 9, in Blytheville. For more information, interested persons can contact Amanda Glass at 838-2901.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: