Masons honor 50-year members

Saturday, April 27, 2002

The Caraway Masonic Lodge 733 hosted a potluck supper at 7 p.m. April 18 to honor four lodge brothers with a 50-year pin. Honorees included Billy Rea, R.H. Rea, Charles Cook, and Cecil Andrews.

Widows and family members of deceased lodge members were invited to attend the supper.

Ricci Waugh Sr., Worshipful Master of the Caraway lodge, led the special ceremonies, which were held on the top floor of the lodge building located in downtown Caraway. R.H. Rea, of Caraway, presented the 50-Year pin to his brother Billy Rea, of Harrisburg, and in turn Billy presented the 50-Year pin to R.H. Both men relived fond memories of living in Caraway, and the times spent in service as active Masons. The Reas brother Lloyd Rea, former Caraway mayor, was also present for the service.

Andrews and Cook were unable to attend, and will be presented their 50-year pins privately.

"These men are some of the pioneer Masons who helped us get our lodge started in 1935," said Bernard Berry, lodge secretary. "All of our members are striving to carry on the work that these men started."

The Caraway Masonic Lodge was chartered on Nov. 20, 1935 and has taken an active part in the community ever since. Charter members were Ottis L. Baldridge, William Charles Craig, John L. Dickson, Charles Thomas Edwards, Hubert Theodore Harmon, Sidney Green Mangrum, and James Clarence Nebugar.

Past Worshipful Masters include: W. C. Craig, 1935; Sidney Mangrum, 1936; Robert Kuhn, 1937; Hubert Harmon, 1938; F.S. Tucker, 1939-1940; Sidney Mangrum, 1941-1942; Joseph M. Welch, 1943; J.E. Pace, 1944; Ted Conner, 1945; C.L. Land, 1946; Hillis Black, 1947; Aubrey Rogers, 1948; Roy Nuckles, 1949; O.L. Baldridge 1950-1951; F.S. Tucker, 1952; Melvin Land, 1953-1954; J.R. Hickey, 1955; Paul Tucker, 1956; R.H. Rea, 1957; Bill Rea, 1958; F.O. Malone, 1959; Billy D. Rea, 1960; Melvin Land, 1961-1962; A.A. Manis, 1963-1964; T.A. Collier, 1965; A.B. Barringer, 1966; J.T. McCormick, 1967; Wayne Blake, 1968; Willard Pollard, 1969; Melville Garrison, 1970; Charles Adams, 1971; Bill Starnes 1972; Carl King, 1973; Roy Puckett, 1974; Henry Combs, 1975; David Stevens, 1976; George Gipson, 1977; Leo Stallings 1978; George Gipson, 1977; Leo Stallings, 1978; Charles Taylor, 1979; Roy Kelems, 1980; James Couch, 1981; Freddy Morgan, 1982; Randy Couch, 1983; Jerry Vaughn, 1984; Garry Taylor, 1985; Norman Griggs, 1986; Troy Kelems, 1987; Carl Waters, 1988; Larry Brooks, 1989; Jack Stone, 1990; Marvin Browning, 1991; Asa Boatman, 1992; Paul Martin, 1993; Norman Griggs, 1994; Jack Turner, 1995; Kenneth Faulkner, 1996; Ricci Waugh Sr., 1997; Tim Brickell, 1998; Jerry Bernard Berry Jr., 1999; Bob Holt, 2000; Ricci Waugh Jr., 2002; and Ricci Waugh Sr., 2002.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: