Manila knocks off M'duke for 25th win of season

Thursday, February 14, 2002

Manila used a big first quarter and tough defense to beat Marmaduke 58-48 Friday night. The win gave the Lions their 25th victory of the season.

Senior Jacob Walker opened the game with a pull-up jumper answered by a lay-in by Marmaduke's Josh Lewellen. Manila's Josh McCullough scored followed by back to back buckets by Marmaduke's Shane Jordan and Josh Bateman. Manila defensively stopped the Grayhounds and scored offensively on a trey by Michael Tomblin and Josh McCullough and baskets by Tomblin and Adam Donner. The Lions took a 15-6 advantage at the end of one.

Marmaduke scored six straight points by Richardson and Bateman to pull within three, 15-12 to open second quarter action. Walker's back to back treys and a basket by McCullough pushed the score to 23-14. A free throw by Marmaduke's Dodd was followed by a Lion basket from Donner. Manila worked the ball around the perimeter when it was "Welcome back" Nate who hit a trey, putting Manila up 28-15. Morries had been out with an ankle injury and returned to action Friday night. Jordan scored for Marmaduke to end the half with Manila up 28-17.

Tomblin and Walker went long pushing Manila's lead to 34-19. Ken Seyler and Donner scored back to back before Marmaduke went on an 8-0 run behind Henson and Jordan. Seyler scored and put back at the buzzer as Manila held on to a 42-33 lead.

McCullough scored six straight to open the fourth quarter giving the Lions a 48-33 cushion. The Greyhounds didn't lay down as Richardson hit four free throws followed by baskets by Bateman to pull within eight 49-41. Manila used patience and free throw shooting to pull away and hold on for the win.

Manila was led by Jacob Walker with 17, Josh McCullough 14, and Michael Tomblin 10. Others scoring were Adam Donner nine, Ken Seyler four, Nate Morries, three and Mitchell Gammill one.

Manila held Marmaduke's Josh Bateman to 16 who led the Greyhounds followed by 12 from Shane Jordan. Others scoring for Marmaduke were Brent Richardson nine, Chase Henson six, Josh Lewellen two, John Clark two and Chris Keen one.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: