Craighead County transportation committee formed

Friday, January 18, 2002

Craighead County Quorum Court Judge Dale Haas swore in the city county Community Transportation Committee board of directors on Jan. 8 at his office in Jonesboro.

The new seven member board was selected by Haas and Jonesboro Mayor Hubert Brodell. The committee was established six months after the Craighead County TEA (Transitional Employment Assistance) Coalition ceased to exist.

The board is made up of three members from the county and four from the City of Jonesboro. Members include Steve Ewart, Monette Mayor David Fletcher, Betty Stockton, Wanda Vaughn, Dr. Charles Coleman and Jonesboro Aldermen Garry Tate and David Young. Tate and Young were unable to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Ewart was chosen as committee chairman. He is the director of adult education for the Jonesboro Public School System. Coleman was elected by the board to serve as vice chairman and Stockdon will serve as recorder/secretary.

"The committee will work jointly with the city council and quorum court to detail the needs of public transportation," Judge Haas said. "We hope they come up with a plan after they do their study that will put us in a positive direction and head us in a direction we need to go to make transportation accessible and availiable for everybody that needs it within the county and city."

"Our goal is to find a way and means to put into place a viable community transportation system for Jonesboro and Craighead County," Ewart said. "We are looking at a very broad base, countywide, serving a multiple group of citizens. We hope to see this happen in 12 to 18 months."

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: